Skip to content

A New York State of Tongue

November 4, 2010

As I’m sure you’ve figured out by now, I recently visited New York City. When I was there, I ate. Gotta eat, am I right? The following is a list of what I ate and where I ate it.

The Met Grill in the lobby of the Doubletree Metropolitan. I had the pancakes with some bacon and a plain bagel. The pancakes were fine, but a little dry. The bacon was a little bland. The plain bagel wasn’t plain. It was a little bit garlicy. That was good. Oh so very good. I love me some garlic bagel.

Ess-a Bagel on Third Avenue, or was it Second, I’m not sure.* One of the two. It’s near 51st Street. I had a garlic bagel with scrambled eggs, bacon and cheddar cheese. The thing was nearly the size of my head. I ate the whole thing. It was magical.

Buttercup Bake Shop on Third Avenue just north of 51st Street. I had an oatmeal muffin. It was a bit heavy but otherwise very good. I also had a cupcake. Vanilla icing on a golden cupcake base. It was like a ball of butter. It was all I could do to keep myself from buying a dozen and living solely off those cupcakes.

Dukes in Murray Hill is a greasy spoon like diner. I had the Miss Dixie’s Buttermilk Southern Fried Chicken with herb mashed potatoes and white cream gravy. Two whole chicken breast fillets, breaded, fried and smothered in the gravy. The chicken was tender, the coating was crispy, the gravy was good enough to drink. I washed it all down with a lemonade spiked with Jack Daniels. Ladies and gentlemen, I’ve been to heaven. It’s located in Murray Hill and God now goes by the name Duke.

Cafe Metro at the corner of Lexington and 51st gets all of it’s business because it’s open later, not because it’s any better than the places nearby. I had a cheese pizza which left much to be desired. I really should have made the effort to walk down to Second or Third where Abitino’s is for a pizza. Much better pizza there than at Cafe Metro. But Cafe Metro was convenient.

Burger Heaven on Madison is just a generic little diner. I went there for breakfast. I had the pancakes and some bacon with a cup of coffee. The pancakes were delightful, the bacon was crispy and the coffee was just right. Service was good too. I would go back there.

Good Burger is just that, a good burger.

* I Googled it and checked, Third Avenue. Got a chance to check it out? Do it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 11:07 am

    Ok I’m convinced. I’m going to NY to try Dukes.

    I wouldn’t be surprised if you could find equally good food in Texas. For example, the Stockyards in Amarillo are apparently really good. I can’t wait to go to Texas and eat myself to death.

  2. November 4, 2010 2:43 pm

    Dukes and the Good Burger place sound awesome. I’ve been aching to try some NYC style pizza, but authentic would be better of course, so I’m glad you listed a good place. I’ll look for it if I’m ever in NYC.

    A delicious vacation and a fun one too? Man, that’s the full deal right there.

    coming up next… my trip to Texas restaurants and diners and maybe I’ll take time between meals to see the Alamo or something.

  3. November 4, 2010 4:49 pm

    I am so ridiculously jealous of you right now.

    Both for your trip to NYC, and for your seemingly inexhaustible ability to eat pancakes for breakfast. Seriously, one pancake and I’m gaining a pound. Eat the stuff you describe here? I’m not getting in my airplane seat on the way back.

    Much of it was walked off. Not including the trips to and from the airport, I only rode a cab once and subway four times, everything else was walking walking and more walking. I was actually heard complaining that I had to take an elevator to the top of the rock. I would have tried the stairs.

  4. November 4, 2010 8:49 pm

    Do you eat vegetables?

    Potato is a vegetable.

  5. November 4, 2010 9:35 pm

    I’d have a hard time finding a good spot and not going back there over and over again. That is kind of what keeps me coming home each and every day.

    I hear yeah. I want to go back to NYC again. So much to do, so little time.

  6. November 5, 2010 1:21 am

    Mmmm, sounds like a delicious vacation! That fried chicken sounds so awesome my mouth is watering.

    You’re going to TX soon? You’re in for some good eats. My friend who lives down there swears by Whataburger. I guess it’s a chain but I’ve never eaten there.

    My next trip has to be to Texas. I have to have some authentic Texan food.

  7. November 5, 2010 8:21 pm

    I’m tempted to travel all the way to New York just to go to Duke’s.

    it’s worth it

Leave a Reply

