Skip to content

How To Eat A Steak

November 14, 2010

As I’m still battling this cold that just doesn’t want to go away, I had to get out and see some of the world. Maybe that would make me feel better.

On Saturday night, I ventured into Maple, not like it was a far venture, and had dinner at The Keg.

Saturday night in the populated part of town is usually pretty busy. Lots of people deciding to eat out instead of stay in. Lots of over-indulgent stereotypical Italian-Canadian families running amok without regard for other people.

The wait for a table for two was fifty to fifty-five minutes. I put my name down on the waiting list and was handed a pager device. With nearly an hour of time to kill, we wandered over to the grocery store across the parking lot. Nothing like a large grocery store to kill some time, especially when the grocery store is a ghost town.

I had skipped lunch that day in favour of a nap. My stomach was already growling for food. Walking through a grocery store, up and down every aisle only taunted my stomach like a pudgy kid at a zoo shooting thin gravy from a water pistol at a hungry lion behind a cage.

I managed to traverse the grocery store without picking up a thing. I ignored the mini powdered sugar donuts. I neglected the mini cupcakes slathered in icing. Sure, I made a joke about being kicked out of the store for bathing in cupcakes, but it was only a joke.

We slowly made our way back to the restaurant and waited a short while longer and then we were seated.

“Hello, my name is Geoff and I’ll be serving you tonight. If you have any questions, I…”

I interrupted Geoff, “I have a question, can we see a drinks menu?”

“Sure thing,” he responded.

Geoff returned with the Bar menu. It contained a list of drinks as well as some appetizers that were not on the regular menu.

Let the ordering of comfort food commence.

Along with The Keg’s usual fresh bread on the house, we ordered some garlic cheese bread and the potato spring rolls. We then ordered our entrees. I had my usual order at The Keg, a bacon-wrapped seven ounce filet mignon with mashed potatoes to compliment the sirloin and twice baked potato ordered from the other side of the booth.

As the food was delivered in waves, it was consumed by a tidal waves of hands, hands armed with forks and knives.

Geoff did once return to ask if the steaks were prepared correctly only to find a clean plate in front of me. “I was going to ask you if you’re steak was alright, but I see you’ve already killed it.” And then he was off.

I was going to comment that the filet mignon was not cooked evenly throughout but I didn’t have the proof to show Geoff. Oh well. My loss in the end. Not that it was much of a loss. I still ate the steak and smiled with every bite.

After round after round of comfort food, I’m still sick, but I’ve given this cold something to think about. You keep punishing me, I’m still going to eat some wonderful food. How you like them apples?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 12:05 pm

    That sounds like a mighty fine meal. I hope that you get over that cold quickly. You know what they say, starve a fever, feed a cold bacon-wrapped steak.

    Too late for quickly. It’s already been over a week.

  2. November 14, 2010 2:27 pm

    Oh man. Now I want steak. I freaking love steak.

    Cxx

    Then go get one. Or two.

  3. November 14, 2010 8:09 pm

    Mmmmm I love the Kegs mashed potatoes and yummy bread! Soooo good!!

    the mashed potatoes were really good, yum!

  4. November 14, 2010 8:16 pm

    You’re going to give that cold ideas about taking up permanent residence if you keep feeding it filet mignon like that! Heck, I’ll move in with you if you promise to “punish” me like that!

    I hope this is the end of the cold for you. You’ve been punished enough for going away on vacation.

    The cold isn’t punishment for the vacation. It’s punishment for something else. Trust me.

  5. November 14, 2010 9:10 pm

    I would have pigged out on something waiting for an hour to eat. But exceptions can be made for fine cuts of beef.

    I still don’t know how I showed so much restraint.

  6. Riot Kitty permalink
    November 14, 2010 9:29 pm

    I hope you feel better soon…love comfort food. I’m a vegetarian but I still find lots of stuff to disappear. I can eat more than any girl I know.

    Vegetarian? What does that mean?

  7. November 14, 2010 10:07 pm

    Steak RULES. That hour wait would’ve killed me. You did awesome bypassing all that grocery-store junk food to get to the meaty awesomeness of filet and mashed, though. Nice call on the twice-baked too. Great taste, both.

    the twice-baked was from the person sitting across the table from me

  8. November 15, 2010 6:34 am

    What’s up with Canada? You and themorb.wordpress.com are both currently down with colds. He said: “The beers last weekend allowed this cold to slip in under the radar.”

    Hope you feel better. Down here it’s a stomach bug.

    Our free health care requires waiting in long lines with other sick people. The diseases spread and morph and breed with each other at the doctor’s office waiting room.

  9. November 15, 2010 6:32 pm

    My honey bunny has the same cold. I feel for you dude…….

    honey bunny?

Leave a Reply

