Skip to content

Beser-Car Rage

December 30, 2010

Editor’s Note: I wonder how many traffic laws I broke last night.

Driving home in the evening yesterday. Going north on a road that’s only one lane each way. It’s a dark road. It’s a country road. Speed limit is 80.

Car ahead of me was doing 50.

Why? Why?

Up ahead of me and this slow poke was a spot where the road widened to accommodate a left turn lane into a small subdivision.

Great! A place to pass this dingleberry.

I look ahead. I’ve got time. I signal. I gun the engine. I move to the left.

Dingus ahead of me floors it at the same time.

Now I’ve got to make a split-second decision. Slow down and go back into the right lane or push my compact SUV to the limit and reach a dangerously high speed just to finish the pass maneuver. The former would put me back behind a car driven by somebody who is deliberately annoying me for no good reason. The latter, risk a fatal car collision with an oncoming vehicle driven by an innocent third party.

I ain’t getting stuck behind that asshole for one second longer for the rest of my life. I choose the former and risk my life and someone else’s.

My car can move when it needs to. I just don’t often need to accelerate to over 120 kilometers per hour just to pass on a regular road. That’s highway passing speed.

This asshole was doing 30 under the limit up until I decided to pass. Driving at the speed limit would have been sufficient to pass, but this asshole sped up.

After I completed the pass, I gradually slowed down. This guy was right behind me the rest of the way until I made my turn off the street.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Riot Kitty permalink
    December 30, 2010 7:49 pm

    One of the handful of things I hate about living in this area…NO ONE can drive. I can’t count how many idiots sit in the left lane, doing way under the limit…or (my favorite) come flying by you in the right lane or even on the shoulder of the freeway.

    passing in the shoulder, why why why???

  2. December 30, 2010 11:58 pm

    I can’t STAND jackasses like that. What the f**k is their problem? Makes we want to slam on the brakes when they’re riding my tail or stop and get out with a tire iron.

    makes me want to follow them home and scold them

  3. December 31, 2010 1:30 am

    Good grief! I always wonder what in the world is going through people’s minds when they pull crap like that. I’m so glad you’re okay and that there wasn’t an accident. Whew! Now you’ll make it to 2011, where I can continue to bug you. :)

    Thankful for you! I hope your New Years is amazing. :)

    probably someone hoping to cause a collision and make it look like it’s my fault so that they can pull an insurance scam

  4. December 31, 2010 7:22 am

    Bad driving makes me cross.

    Cxx

Leave a Reply

