Skip to content

A Christmas Gift for the Bottom of the Sea

January 3, 2011

Well, Christmas is over. You can tell this by the fact that the soft rock radio stations are playing soft rock again and not jingle bell rock. Also, the lines at the electronic stores are all at the returns desk and not a soul in the building is actually there to buy stuff.

Okay, sure there are things that are complete crap. So craptastic that it baffles me somebody in this world thought it was a worthwhile idea to manufacture and market such crap. I’m talking about crap like those picture frames that completely engulf the photograph with stupid sayings. Hey, I want a picture frame because you know, it frames my pictures. But I don’t want a bright green frame with bright pink text in a gawdy font reading “I LUV GRAMPA.” You know something, I’ve got a photo of me with my grandparents on my night table. But I don’t have that photo in some dumb ass frame. It’s in a standard plain frame because well, the point is to look at the photo, not the frame. Nor do I want the frame to give me God damn nightmares every fucking time I close my eyes.

The lesson I learned was to never buy a picture frame at Hallmark. Never even look at the picture frames there. It’s all a waste of time. All they have is shit like that.

I am glad that many picture frames today do not come with some stock photo of people. Instead the frame is populated with generic text telling me what size photo fits in the frame and stuff like that. It’s always a bummer when you get a picture frame and the people in the stock photo are better looking than the people in the photo you actually put in the frame.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Riot Kitty permalink
    January 3, 2011 10:02 am

    Funny, because 1) the soft rock station here did the same thing and it totally pissed me off, and 2) I actually painted frames for presents for my family this year. So many store-bought frames are, as you have pointed out, really obnoxious. 3) I don’t miss the photo stock people either.

    Handmade stuff is always good. Comes from the heart. And it’s cheap too.

  2. January 3, 2011 10:14 am

    Stop being so grumpy! Its Rex Manning day!

    What is a Rex Manning day?

  3. January 3, 2011 10:51 am

    You missed your calling as a photo frame model.

    No I didn’t.

  4. January 3, 2011 12:50 pm

    You know what else I hate? I hate those picture frames with the LCD in it to rotate through your digital photos or the ones they provide. I had a friend come up with that about 10 or 12 years ago, and he took apart a laptop with a broken case to do it. It worked great. I hope he’s collecting royalties for the idea at least.

    If he didn’t patent it, he ain’t getting squat.

  5. January 3, 2011 5:14 pm

    What about those frames where you can put your photo card into them….how do you feel about those? They seem to be growing on me…

    You mean those digital photo frames. They’re okay but I don’t like having to plug in a picture frame just to look at a picture. Also, I’ve only got two photos I wanna look at. So, two frames work just fine for me.

  6. January 4, 2011 12:25 am

    I agree. A frame should enhance the picture, not detract from it.

    Did somebody get you one of those?

    Yeah, somebody got me a frame that says “I LUV GRAMPA”

  7. January 4, 2011 5:20 pm

    When CHFI switched back to soft rock, I gave up and tuned my alarm clock radio to CBC. I’m now a CBC radio 1 addict. I thought it would never happen, but obviously I’m turning into my mother.

    I don’t do picture frames. They’re dust catchers. The pictures go in albums or pretty boxes and when I want to look at them, I know where to find them.

    CBC Radio is for commie hippy pigs

  8. January 5, 2011 6:14 am

    I am always appalled by the price of picture frames, never mind the horrible designs that they come in!

    Happy New Year!

    too many awful designs, too many

Leave a Reply

