Skip to content

I Can’t Remember The Last Good New Movie

January 20, 2011

I can’t remember the last good new movie.

I don’t see that many films in theatres anymore. I see maybe a half dozen a year. Most of the newer films I see are on some sort of home theatre medium like DVD or Blu-Ray. I’m just one of those people who prefers to watch movies at home.

But I’m having a hard time thinking of the last new movie I saw that made me say “Wow! This movie was amazing!” Last year, I remember having a good reaction to The Expendables. Not that it was a fine piece of cinematic art, but it delivered everything I wanted it to deliver. I wanted to see things get blowed up and I saw things get blowed up. I wanted to see Stallone et al kick the crap out of a huge number of nameless and faceless terrorist/soldier/minion type guys and I did. I wanted to see very little story and I saw very little story.

Before that, I saw The Blindside which was an okay movie. Sandra Bullock won some over-hyped gold statuette for her performance in that film. I can’t say her winning an award for the performance was unearned. She was very entertaining. But as a whole, the movie wasn’t anything special.

So what’s wrong with Hollywood these days? Why can’t they put together something a bit more entertaining?

And now for today’s Faggot of the Day.

Last week a Toronto police officer died in the line of duty. A few days ago, there was a public funeral ceremony for the fallen police officer.

One man used the funeral as an opportunity to protest the police. This man held up a sign that read “No police state.”

Here in Canada, people have the right to speak freely about such matters. People have the right to protest what they feel to be injustices.

He was removed from the funeral and detained for five hours. He was never charged with any offense. The police have stated his removal was for his own safety and for a citation for breach of the peace. That makes sense to me. Walking up to twelve thousand police officers and holding up a sign protesting their job, their career, in my opinion, is asking for trouble.

I wouldn’t ever think of walking up to twelve thousand people who are trained in self-defense and firearms and what-not then claim that those twelve thousand people are denying the public their civil rights. The fact that this man was only detained is proof that the police are not the police of a police state, but doing whatever they can to protect and serve the public.

So, for this tasteless act of self-promotion and passive aggresive shit-disturbing, I award the Faggot of the Day to Eric Brazzau. Or to Tom Proust or whatever the heck he is claiming his name to be. Yesterday morning, he claimed his name was Tom. Later it was found out that his name is really Eric. Sounds to me like somebody isn’t just a faggot, but a bit paranoid too.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 8:36 am

    I am hoping to get the Expendables soon – looks like my kind of movie!

    I think the big problem at the moment is 3D. They want to make things that look good, regardless of everything else. Having said that I did enjoy Avatar!

    I think that guy should have been treated to a holiday in North Korea…

    A while back we had a group of anti-war Muslims who wanted to exercise their legal right to have a march through the town that our war casualties (including the dead) are flown back to. Eventually someone grew some balls and refused them permission.

    That was a pretty big story. Made the news over here.

  2. January 20, 2011 10:08 am

    Can you seriously change the title F of the day….I find it HORRIBLY offensive.

    I disagree.

  3. January 20, 2011 11:41 am

    The King’s Speech is wonderful!

    I’ve read your review. Sounds kinda blah to me.

  4. January 20, 2011 4:40 pm

    Hollywood bores me. I find that very few movies are worth watching. I like some foreign and indie films, just for the sake of their being different. I quite liked Scott Pilgrim, although I didn’t see it in a theatre. Did you see it?

    I passed on Scott Pilgrim because I’m not a teenage girl with purple hair.

  5. January 20, 2011 4:59 pm

    Doubt was a great story. The acting was superb and the story structure was spot on. Incredibly well done.

    Funerals – I think people are hateful to protest at a funeral. Whether you liked them or not, the people there are grieving the person who died. Let them grieve. Take up your cause later.

    It occurred to me, it took that board 25 years to ban Dire Sraits for that song – you might be at this FotD for a while!

    25 years, then one complaint, and now the song is banned.

  6. January 20, 2011 7:18 pm

    I don’t often go to the theatre either, the last movie I saw there was the one about the Fockers….obviously it wasn’t fantastic but it had its funny moments. I’m going to see Inception tomorrow night finally, I heard it’s good.

    I’ve also heard Inception was good, but long, maybe too long. Also, generally, I’ve only liked DiCaprio when directed by Scorcese.

  7. Riot Kitty permalink
    January 20, 2011 11:18 pm

    Tron was good.

    Really? Looks like monkey balls.

Leave a Reply

