Skip to content

What’s Going On

February 1, 2011

I was not to up-to-date on the going’s on in north Africa so I did some reading. From the reading I did, this is what I now understand.

The uprisings in Egypt were sparked because many Egyptians saw what had happened a week or two prior in nearby Tunisia and thought it might be good to overthrow the government in a similar fashion.

So… what happened in Tunisia? Well, the people rose up in protest and overthrew the government. Not that it was a bloody coup d’etat (or the bloodless all-smotherings coup d’etat) but it was just such a huge protest that engulfed so many people, the rulers just simply up and left the country creating a power vacuum. But what started the Tunisian unrest?

My understanding is that it all started from one guy. This one guy, unemployed and university educated guy in his mid-twenties decided to sell fruit in the street. The police confiscated his fruit cart claiming he had no vendor permit. That may be true. That may be right. I don’t know Tunisian street vendor laws. This guy claimed he was beaten up by the police.

So far it all sounds pretty humdrum. Not that police brutality is a good thing, but it’s a thing. It happens. It happened in Toronto six months ago. So, if it happens in tree-huggin’ hippy land, it sure as hell can happen in Tunisia. The difference is how the brutalized person responds to the brutality. In Toronto, the guy who got beaten up by the cops filed a complaint against the police and the offending officer is going to trial. In Tunisia, this beaten up guy set himself on fire in protest. He killed himself in a fiery blaze to protest police brutality.

You have to admire this guy’s complete lack of subtlety.

One thing people have to know about the Middle East is that it is a region that has never been ruled by one man or one group for very long. It’s a huge region that has a lengthy history of being completely unable to get along with anybody foreign or anybody local. There is more history there than there is anywhere else. And all of that history is a textbook or how-to guide to screwing things up for everybody. The Middle East had culture and the written word and music and art and philosophy and slavery and pointless wars while Europeans were still cave-dwelling troglodytes.

I’m not sure what point I’m trying to make here. Maybe it’s something along the lines of these people have never gotten along with each other, only a naive blubbering idiot would think there’s a slim chance in Hell they’ll start to get along with each other anytime soon.

In local news, McDonalds Canada finally brought in the breakfast biscuit.

Yeah, you know this is a day I’ve been waiting for.

Tried the bacon ‘n egg biscuit this morning.

The egg is different than the egg from the McMuffin. It’s more yolky, less white. The biscuit itself is very greasy. It’s very much like the Popeye’s biscuit and not like the Tim Hortons biscuit.

I couldn’t finish it. It was too rich.

And no Faggot of the Day today. Let me wait to see how much snowfall envelopes the land first. Then I’ll unleash a tirade on that guy who lives down the street from me who always shovels the snow from his driveway on to the street.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 9:39 am

    Thanks for the round up – I hadn’t quite worked out who the guy was who set himself on fire. That is one ghastly way to go…

    Sometimes it’s best to sum up a major world event down it’s most basic action.

  2. February 1, 2011 7:19 pm

    I love those breakfast biscuits. The eggs on them, however, are scrambled, not fried like the McMuffin egg. At least, that’s here in the US.

    We’re getting socked right now. Supposed to have 8-12″ before it’s all over tomorrow night. They sent us home from work early and it still took me over an hour to get home (normally 25 minutes). And, my boss is considering making it a day off tomorrow.

    Good luck with your neck of it up there.

    Yeah, McDonald’s Canada just got the breakfast biscuit. This morning, I had the good ol’ Egg McMuffin because the unscrambled egg is better.

  3. Riot Kitty permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:14 am

    Only you could pull off writing about unrest in Africa and McDonald’s in the same post!

    Which is odd, because I’ve heard that Hardee’s is the big fast food chain in Egypt.

  4. February 2, 2011 3:31 am

    I like the McGriddles. I’ll probably not eat one for at least 5 years, but those are my favorite of the McD breakfast sandwiches.

    Is this blizzard heading your way? I wasn’t able to see your area on the little map on my phone.

    Then get a better phone.

  5. February 2, 2011 11:26 am

    I do feel bad for all of the civil unrest over there…but they’re standing up against a corrupt government, so i cant fault them for that. BUT i dont see how looting and destroying the Cairo museum is helping anyone. Thats thousands of years of the worlds history…gone, sold and destroyed.

    The protesters aren’t looting and destroying stuff of value. Looters and thieves and destroyers use the protests as cover for their actions. Frankly, if I was the sort of person who wanted to steal antiquities from a museum, I would have traveled to Egypt as fast as possible once the unrest began. I tell ya, where ever, whenever there’s a protest, there’s somebody in there to get something for their own personal gain with no interest in the politics behind the protest.

  6. February 2, 2011 12:28 pm

    Sure as hell beats a “God Hates Fags” sign.

    When are those “God Hates Fags” guys gonna set themselves on fire?

  7. February 2, 2011 1:32 pm

    Did you get hit hard with snow?

    Hard to say. I spent much of the day shoveling and reshoveling my driveway. Nothing collapsed. Well, I did after the third time clearing my driveway. I was exhausted. It was more how the snow whipped around as opposed to a total amount of snow. My car was completely covered in snow. I had a foot on the hood of my car. The other vehicle in the driveway was nearly clean. It all depends on where I park, I guess.

  8. February 2, 2011 3:52 pm

    I do admire his complete lack of subtlety. Next time I don’t like the way someone treats me, I’m setting myself on fire.

    Sparkling Red shall become Flaming Red!

Leave a Reply

