Skip to content

Still Giving It A Go

February 8, 2011

Last week, my working out didn’t work out so well. My Monday session was cut short after I nearly passed out. Not sure what caused it. In all the times I’ve been to the gym, only twice I’ve not had a Nutri-Grain bar before working out. Those two times I either couldn’t do it. My body gave up on me. There’s something in those bars. I just have to keep eating them before exercising.

Then on Wednesday, I took a snow day. I worked out quite a bit though. I shoveled my driveway three times. After that, I spent the rest of the day inside my house.

So last night, I made it back to the gym. So, that little spitfire of a woman who trains me, yeah, she worked me really hard last night. All the weights but two exercises were upped. And those damned walking lunges nearly set my legs on fire. I tell you, whoever invented that exercise is a sadistic maniac.

Regardless of the pain and insanity of exercising, I am going back. If for nothing else, it gives me an excuse to leave work early two days a week.

And now for today’s Faggot of the Day.

Faggots come in many shapes and sizes. Today, the Faggot comes in the shape and size of a national drug store chain. Shoppers Drug Mart is a Canadian drug store chain. Other than the obvious pharmacy products, Shoppers now sells make-up, food, magazines and all sorts of knick-knacks.

When I was a child, Shoppers was a much smaller store but in recent years, Shoppers has built much larger locations. Unfortunately, the stores are hugely understaffed. I always have to wait in line whenever I go there for anything.

Between my home and my shop, there are at least four locations of Shoppers Drug Mart. Two of which, are only one stop light away from each other. Yesterday, I went to both of those locations looking for a certain something. In the two stores, I only saw a total of three employees. And when I found the product I was purchasing, I had to wait at the cashier’s counter for five minutes before a cashier even appeared.

I really should start shopping elsewhere for my pharmaceutical needs, but dammit, there’s four locations between home and work.

So, for having what seems like fewer employees than brick and mortar stores, Shoppers Drug Mart, you are today’s Faggot of the Day.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 10:05 am

    Gah, I hate places like that! I think there should be a law that says that if there is no one at the checkout within 5 minutes your stuff is free.

    I just hate having to wait to buy deodorant.

  2. February 8, 2011 10:32 am

    Great job on sticking to the workouts!

    thanks

  3. February 8, 2011 12:52 pm

    Sadly most pharm chains are severly understaffed now days.

    then why build so many stores

  4. February 8, 2011 1:08 pm

    I think that it’s great that you are keeping up with your training. Good work!

    thanks

  5. February 8, 2011 9:45 pm

    More stores than employees… HA! Great line. I love it.

    And the stuff in those bars? Yeah, that’d be SUGAR.

    whatever

  6. February 8, 2011 11:52 pm

    I must say, I admire your persistence in working out. It’s never an easy thing to change habits like that, but you’re doing really well. Way to go!

    thanks

  7. Riot Kitty permalink
    February 9, 2011 1:15 am

    Three employees in two stores? We have that many full-time people at my tiny nonprofit!

    As for leg lunges, you’re right. Some sadistic motherfucker who invented them is out there rubbing his hands, reading your post.

    well, this is a profit company, a big company with big profits, now I know why, no payroll

  8. February 9, 2011 8:30 pm

    I HATE lunges!!!

    Ugh, I’ve waited in line forever as well as Shoppers…WTF?

    That store is just notorious for slow checkouts. Can’t figure out why.

  9. February 9, 2011 9:42 pm

    Not only are they understaffed, but the layout of their checkout counters is retarded. It’s one of those situations where tills 1 and 2 feed off one aisle, and then till 3 is way over there, opposite a possible 4th. Inevitably what happens is a huge queue builds up for tills 1 and 2, so after 20 minutes or so they finally open till 3, and chaos ensues. It should be feeding from the same queue that’s been waiting all this time (MY queue) but sneaky rat-fink people march up to the 3rd counter without standing in line, like, hey, it’s way over here, you guys are all stoopid for standing over there when there’s no lineup over here. AND THE CASHIER ALWAYS, ALWAYS JUST LETS THEM GET AWAY WITH IT. I avoid shopping at SDM if I can help it, just to avoid the rage it always drives me to.

    The competition is out of the way. I’m telling you, four Shoppers between home and work. No competition in that route.

Leave a Reply

