Skip to content

Friday is Pie Day

April 13, 2011

I did not confine my vacation to Lake Buena Vista. I did some exploring. I spent a day in Sarasota.

The day in Sarasota was all due to a restaurant that was shown in an episode of Man V Food. Yoder’s Restaurant is a little restaurant run by an Amish family. (Yes, there is electricity running through the building.)

I had the grilled chicken that was smothered in garlic butter and mashed potatoes with country gravy. The chicken was cooked perfectly. It was tender and juicy. It tasted great. The mashed potatoes were scrumptious. The bread brought to the table looked like four slices of standard store-bought bread. That’s what it looked like. But by the touch and the taste, it was whole grain, it was warm, it was fresh. I could have just eaten that bread and been happy. For dessert, I had a slice of cherry pie. Yoder’s is known for it’s pies. This pie was delicious.

Beside the restaurant, there is a gift shop selling handmade crafts and such. Many things with a strong Christian theme. On the other side, Yoder’s Market. A grocery store selling produce and food products with Yoder’s tradition of no preservatives. I bought some jam.

I wanted to make the two hour drive to Sarasota and the two and a half hour drive back (extra thirty minutes of traffic on the way back) worth my while so I found a museum in Sarasota.

The Ringling Museum is a series of buildings and grounds surrounded by a university. It sits right on the coast. The old building right next to the water, Cà d’ Zan was the house of John and Mable Ringling. Yes, that Ringling. John was one of the brothers in the Ringling Brothers Circus. The museum is both a museum of fine art started by the Ringlings and a museum devoted to the history and splendor of the circus.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to do the whole museum and grounds. I did see the circus museum which was very interesting. I learned a lot about the circus. I also walked the grounds. There is a beautiful rose garden between the museum buildings and Cà d’ Zan. The house sits right up on the water. The patio stretches into water and is tiled in granite. I sat there and stared across the water. Then I turned back and faced the house, the beautiful mansion house. Although John Ringling had other businesses, the real start of his wealth came from the circus. This was the house that circus money built. Shit, I’m in the wrong business.

And now for the return of Faggot of the Day.

Canadians will soon be returning to the polls as another pointless federal election is upon us.

Last night was an English language leaders debate. I wasn’t paying too close attention as I feel this election will not accomplish anything in the way the nation is being run.

One topic of debate was the language issue. The Liberal party’s candidate for Prime Minister, Michael Ignatieff said the following phrase during the debate, “French and the other official language.”

My jaw hit the floor when he said that. The other official language? Did Ignatieff just refer to English, the most spoken language in this country as “the other official language?” Yup, he did.

Well Iggy, any chance you had of getting me to vote for your party went out the door with that faggotty comment. English is not the other official language. English is English. You’d know that if you were in an English speaking riding. Oh wait. You are.

Michael Ignatieff, you are today’s faggot of the day.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 8:14 am

    Yoder’s Market? “Come to buy my pies, you have!”

    Your trip sounds like a lot of fun. I haven’t been. My younger brother went and hated it, but he is like that anyway…

    It’s Amish, not Jedi.

    • April 13, 2011 9:17 am

      I watched a documentary about the Amish the other day – looked pretty similar to Jedi to me!

      Pretty sure light sabers are electric.

  2. April 13, 2011 11:47 am

    Down home cooking with an Amish theme, that sounds amazing.

    Don’t get more down home than 17th century.

  3. April 13, 2011 7:27 pm

    Sarasota and the circus! Great choice! Had no IDEA they were so far apart though. I like that you explored and had fun other places. Well done!

    We saw a documentary a while back about the castles of America and the HUGE mansions in Rhode Island, Delaware and Florida were among the most spectacular.

    The things a man will do for pie.

  4. April 13, 2011 8:10 pm

    I’m growing to love FOTD. It’s quite the feature.

    Cxx

    Thank you. Or were you being sarcastic.

  5. April 14, 2011 1:51 am

    The museum sounds fun! I used to live near railroad tracks,and twice I’ve seen the Ringling cars go by. One time, an elephant waved at me, the other time a giraffe nodded. It was pretty cool. :D

    Did you save me a piece of pie?

    How many official languages does The Great White North have, anyway?

    One too many.

Leave a Reply

