Skip to content

A Stomach’s Perspective

April 14, 2011

Hello there. WIGSF has taken the day off from blogging and has let me, his stomach author a post.

Let me tell you something, this guy has been torturing me for the past few months. First, he started doing sit-ups. They hurt! Then, he took away all of that yummy food he was filling me with. But then, last week, he tried to make it up to me.

My first Floridian meal was at a hotel in Walt Disney World called the Bonnet Creek Hilton. There, I feasted on roasted cornish hen. It was nearly the whole bird crusted with a light tangy dry rub. The hen was accompanied with some mashed potatoes that were to die for. Oh that was good eating. He also snagged me a couple of french fries. He washed it all down with a couple bottles of Heinekin. Okay, it was the watered-down American Heineken, but it was still good.

The next day, it was late breakfast/early lunch at Denny’s. I expect more from Denny’s. WIGSF ordered only foods with the healthy-alternative logo from the menu. The pancakes were stale and crunchy. The fruit was tasteless. The scrambled eggs were whites only. The chicken sausage was, well, chicken sausage.

Dinner was at a sports bar in a different hotel. Kooks Sports Bar offered up a scrumptious plate of french fries, thick and fried up just right. Then some chicken quesadilla. Best chicken quesadilla he’s ever given me. It was ooey and gooey and greasy and boy did it hit the spot. But seriously, what’s with the healthy stuff. I don’t want that. Instead of real beer, he fed me Michelob Ultra, a light, low-calorie beer. It was yellow and water. But it was the tastiest bottle of yellow and water I’ve ever had.

That brings us to Friday. He drove me all the way to Sarasota to an Amish restaurant he saw on TV. There, I ate garlic-buttered grilled chicken with mashed potatoes covered in a thick country gravy with some steamed green beans. Fresh warm home made whole grain bread was the appetizer. For dessert, a slice of cherry pie so good, I made WIGSF buy an “I heart pies” mug. Beside the restaurant was a grocery store where WIGSF bought some snickerdoodles, but more on those later.

Dinner that night was back in Orlando. He took me to an Italian restaurant called Maggiano’s. I was expecting an appetizer of flatbread margerita pizza. But before I was served that, a gentleman who called himself the chef came to the table and offered up a dish of fried eggplants. Normally, I don’t care for eggplants, but these were very good. Then the flatbread pizza came which was also very good. Then the entree, a large filet mignon. It was cooked just right with some mashed potatoes squished beneath it. The juices from the meat mixed in with the potatoes made a wonderful slop. To drink, some Stella Artois. It was good. It’s always good.

Friday’s dining had some competition with what I was fed on Saturday night. At a steak and seafood restaurant called Johnnie’s Hideaway, I was fed fresh sour dough bread with whipped butter then some fried porchini mushrooms. I’m not big on the mushrooms but these were okay. Then a larger filet mignon that was just as good as the one from the night before. I don’t know if it was the food, the shot of Booker Noe, the pint of Michelob Ultra draught beer or the amazing sour dough bread, but I was feeling good that night.

The last night of the trip, WIGSF took me to a pizzeria called Uno’s. The pizza was deep dish. It was good too. It wasn’t the kind of pizza you want to write home and tell your mother about, but it was still a quality meal.

Throughout the last couple of days, WIGSF eased me through the days with snickerdoodles from the Amish grocery store. They were some of the best snickerdoodles I’ve ever had.

Throw in some amusement park food and some questionable airport pizza to round off the low end of the food scale for the week and it was still a great eating experience. The Cheerios he force-fed me with one morning were stale and bland, even for Cheerios. It was the snickerdoodle that came after that saved that breakfast for me.

I will definitely agree to this trip again should WIGSF want to take me.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 4:11 pm

    If only your partners in organs had as much fun….

    Even if they did, they’re nowhere near as eloquent as my stomach.

  2. Riot Kitty permalink
    April 14, 2011 5:53 pm

    Good luck! I love Uno’s, I’m jealous.

    It is hard to find good deep dish pizza. Or any deep dish pizza. At least in my corner of the world.

  3. jason permalink
    April 14, 2011 7:12 pm

    Amish and Florida just don’t seem to go together. Sounds like a pretty tasty trip though.

    Everybody goes south for the winter.

  4. April 14, 2011 7:58 pm

    Sounds like an awesome food excursion, WIGSF’s stomach. My stomach envies you. Perhaps I’ll take my stomach on such an excursion as well.

    I’m hungry now…

    Just don’t fill up right before getting on a plane. Damned rookie mistake.

  5. April 14, 2011 8:54 pm

    Was the Amish restaurant something you saw on Diners Drive Ins and Dives?? I’m going to make a roadtrip one day based on that show!

    Man V Food, not Diners.

  6. April 15, 2011 1:56 am

    I must say, Stomach, that it sounds like you had a wonderful time on vacation with WIGSF! I’m so glad he had a friend with him! I hate to think of him vacationing alone.

    It sure seems like you know your stuff, and if WIGSF’s smart he’ll be sure to take you with him wherever he may go next. :) You’re a good friend to have along.

    I’m never alone as long as I have my stomach.

  7. April 21, 2011 3:23 am

    Mmmm…my stomach wants to go on vacation with your stomach.

    It is a wonderful travel companion.

Leave a Reply

