Skip to content

In Response to Miss Ash

April 15, 2011

Miss Ash recently commented asking if I heard about Yoder’s Restaurant on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives.

The answer is no. I saw it on Man V Food.

For those who haven’t seen either show, here’s a description of each.

Diners, Drive-ins and Dives (or DDD) is a television program where host Guy Fieri visits various restaurants around America and samples their signature dishes. The restaurants visited are not fancy, over-priced bistros. They are as the title of the show proclaims; they are diners and drive-ins and dives.

Man V Food (or MVF) is a similar program but it does not shy away from the more expensive restaurants. MVF focuses on restaurants known for their large portions or difficult to eat meals.

The production of the programs vary as the two programs are being offered to different audiences. DDD is a Food Network program. The focus is on the food preparation and originality of the meal. Like many other Food Network programs, DDD shows the viewer a new or different way of preparing a dish.

MVF is a Travel Channel program. The focus is on the experience of eating the meal. Through MVF, viewers can get a glimpse into what it’s like to be somewhere they are not.

DDD’s Guy Fieri as a fast-talking restauranteur. The program’s filming is just as fast. Scenes of food preparation are heavily edited so as to show all the ingredients being added at break-neck speed.

MVF’s Adam Richman is an actor. He has a much better sense of drama and creating a scene. His program moves at a slower pace. Generally, the foods featured on MVF are simpler in recipe. To go through the preparation quickly would be to shorten the program and would also take away from the anticipation of the meal itself.

Due to MVF’s Travel Channel roots, each episode generally stays in one geographic region. The program highlights not just the restaurants visited, but the region as a whole. DDD is all over the place. Three restaurants, three cities, no connection.

The biggest difference between the two programs are the Man V Food challenges. Each episode of MVF, at the third and final restaurant of the episode, Adam Richman attempts to complete an eating challenge. The challenges differ from restaurant to restaurant. Some are simple in theory, eat this huge meal in a certain time and get your name on the wall of fame. For example, in Texas, Adam had to eat a 72 ounce steak with all the sides in under 90 minutes. Some are much more difficult, eat this really spicy meal without relief from napkins or soothing beverages. For example, Adam once had to eat 10 chicken wings but they were very hot and very spicy and he was not allowed to wipe his hands or mouth with a napkin during the meal and for five minutes after finishing the meal.

On a personal note, the restaurant I visited, Yoder’s, was not a challenge restaurant. It was one of the two restaurants in the episode featured prior to the challenge. The challenge restaurant MVF featured on the Sarasota episode is called Munchies 4:20 which is known for it’s large, calorie-laden sandwiches. For example, a Philly Steak sandwich with chicken fingers, onion rings and macaroni and cheese. And there’s probably some potatoes in there too. The challenge meal, surprisingly, was a small meal. It was an order of chicken wings. Not a huge order, only 10 wings but the wings were tossed in a hot sauce made from among other things, ghost chili extract. Ghost chili being one of if not the hottest peppers known to man. Adam gave up on the challenge after only his second wing. I did not go to that restaurant. After having lunch at Yoder’s, I was sufficiently stuffed for the day. Having had a delicious meal at Yoder’s, I needed to let the food rest in my belly. Sarasota was also a 2 hour drive from Lake Buena Vista, where I was staying. If had eaten any more, I would have probably fallen asleep while driving back to the hotel.

Last night, I watched Man V Food for the first time since leaving for my vacation. It wasn’t something I planned to do, it just happened to be on when I was flipping around the dial. As luck would have it, the Sarasota episode was airing again. It was exciting watching a television program and being able to point to the screen and shout “I sat there! I ate that! Oh, I gotta have that again!”

Around the dinner table last night, my family discussed taking a trip to Florida together. Sarasota will definitely be a stop on that trip. My mother wants a Yoder’s pie.

But just so you don’t think that the stomach leads my decisions or the decisions of my family members, everybody is excited to go to Florida. My father wants use those Disney World passes again. We just found out they’re still good. I used mine last weekend. But yeah, the pie is pretty exciting to too.

But before that trip can happen, I will be having another Man V Food mini-vacation. The nearest to me region visited on MVF was Niagara Falls, both sides of the border. On that episode, I saw a couple of restaurants I’d like to visit. This summer, when I can muster a free weekend, I’m heading down there. Don’t get your expectations up too high though. Again, I will NOT be attempting the challenge meal. The Niagara challenge meal is a 9 course Italian feast. That one, single meal Adam Richman ate in Niagara Falls, Ontario was more food than my family of five will eat on Easter Sunday. How that man can put away so much food is beyond my imagination. But the food does look really good so I will be eating something there.

On my first visit to the gym since returning from Florida, I was weighed. I only gained two pounds. That’s incredible. I know I showed some restraint, but I didn’t think I showed that much restraint. I ate plenty of snickerdoodles and french fries and mashed potatoes in Florida. My trainer, the Spitfire was proud that I didn’t destroy myself as I had claimed I would. The head trainer, when he saw, asked “So WIGSF, how was your Man V Food meal?”

That sparked a conversation between me and the man on the treadmill next to me. “You went to a Man V Food place?”

“Yup. Yoder’s. The Amish restaurant in Florida.”

“How was it?”

“The pie was everything and more. Cherry pie. Never had pie that good in my life.”

“Oh yeah, I love cherry pie. Having a really hard time finding good cherry jam though.”

“Guess what? Yoder’s sells jams too. I brought home a jar of cherry jam. It’s amazing. I ate half the jar already.”

Okay, sorry folks. I somehow went all over the place on this post today. I just wanted to discuss the differences between MVF and DDD. I ended up writing about discussions of jam and pie while running on a treadmill. Oh well.

For that hard turn in writing, I shall award myself the Faggot of the Day, again.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 10:10 am

    We went through a phase of watching Man vs Food all the time – one of our channels would run 3 or 4 episodes back to back.

    We even had a meal based on the food challenges – everyone making the most ridiculous burgers and trying to finish them. Great fun.

    Oh man, that sounds like fun.

  2. Sparkling Red permalink
    April 15, 2011 12:52 pm

    Only 2 pounds? Maybe all the hardcore training sped up your metabolism.

    Or maybe American food isn’t as fattening as Canadian.

  3. April 15, 2011 8:05 pm

    Sounds awesome to me. Every time you describe that incredible cherry pie, I figure I need to get me some. I wonder if Yoder’s is on the Internet?

    Yoder’s Restaurant

  4. April 17, 2011 7:24 pm

    I only have basic cable so I’m completely ignorant when it comes to reading this post.

    I’ll summarize. Food = good.

  5. April 17, 2011 8:16 pm

    Which restaurant did he go to on the Canadian side? I’ll have to check that show out, I’ve never seen it.

    As for the passes, I can’t believe they were still valid! That’s bonkers.

    I think it’s called Mike & Angelo’s.

  6. April 17, 2011 11:32 pm

    I remember when Guy Fieri won “The Next Food Network Star” competition.

    I think it’s awesome you only gained only 2 lbs. You didn’t really hold back on vacation either.

    I liked your post. I don’t think you deserve the FotD. Most conversations meander like that. :)

Leave a Reply

