Skip to content

Photography

April 18, 2011

In Florida, I did take a camera with me. I got lots of photos. Here are some.

Ziosk

That, my friends, is something called a Ziosk. Maybe that’s nothing new to you, but it’s a new thing to me. At Uno’s Pizzeria, this was on the table. It was a touchscreen electronic menu with all sorts of extra useless gadgets. Through the Ziosk, a patron at the restaurant can peruse the menu, order desserts and drink refills. Patrons can also check movie listings, play games and swipe a credit card to pay for the meal. To any wait staff who may be reading this, half of your job is being replaced by a computer. Not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. I guess it depends on the customer.

The Viking

This viking statue stands at the Norway pavilion in Epcot Center’s World Showcase. To get this photo, I had to wait a while. A family of uppity Eurotrash was taking their sweet time posing with the statue for a series of photos. At one point, the teenage girl in the family was coerced into posing with the statue. Why she posed provocatively with the statue baffled me. She seemed disinterested in being there, but posing in such a way to make it seem like she was about to perform a sexual act with the statue was wrong. She was posing with this statue like she was a hostess at a stag and the viking had just slipped a fifty in her panties. Why the adult woman and teenage boy with her took photos of her in such a pose were beyond wrong.

Eggo Cereal

Americans get the best food. They don’t realize how good they’ve got it. Saw this at a supermarket. Maple syrup flavoured Eggo waffle cereal. You can’t get stuff like this in Canada. I didn’t get any of this and settled for a single bowl’s worth of Cheerios instead. Stupid diet chased me down all the way to Orlando.

Yoder's Cherry Pie

This is the slice of cherry pie I ate at Yoder’s Restaurant in Sarasota. I have not stopped thinking about this pie and it’s been more than a week since I ate it.

Man's Best Friend

I spotted this sign on the resort of the Bonnet Creek Hilton. On this sign, the man is pictured with a putter. What is he doing with the putter? Is he going to hit the dog in the bum with the golf club? I’m confused.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 8:39 am

    That cereal looks great – we get Kellogs stuff over here, but not that one!

    Doggy Doo – That is an interesting one, different to the ones we have here. Maybe the idea is to whack the poop before it hits the ground?

    You got dogs. Try that, see what happens.

  2. April 18, 2011 11:54 am

    I prefer a tennis racket when I beat my dogs after they deficate.

    You like that grid pattern bruising?

  3. April 18, 2011 1:07 pm

    I am very glad that you got a picture of the pie. You’ve definitely devoted a lot of blog space to it!

    You know, it seems like any foreign culture has more awesome junk food compared to ours. I’ve gone into meltdowns over various items I’ve come across in the US, the UK, France and Spain. This March Break I brought back squeezable jam from Spain and cookies called “Filipinos” for my good-humoured Filipino friend.

    Should you come across a cookie called “Dirty Italian Greaseball” I would like a box please.

  4. April 18, 2011 10:02 pm

    Nice shots. That little tabletop ziosk dealy is cool.

    The Ziosk can be a bit distracting though.

  5. April 19, 2011 3:04 am

    You probably already know that Uno’s began in Chicago. I’ve eaten there, at the original. A long long long time ago.

    I think cherry pie has addictive properties. I’m sure if we could get a thorough list of all the ingredients, and have some tests run on them, we’d finally find out the truth. I didn’t even eat that pie and I can’t stop thinking about it either.

    I don’t think that’s a putter in the pet pic. I think it’s supposed to be a “pooper scooper.” We had a long-handled device sort of like that when we still had our furry baby.

    Which of your children was “furry,” the boy or the girl?

  6. Riot Kitty permalink
    April 19, 2011 3:33 am

    Seriously, wtf with the golf club?!

    Lots of golf courses in Florida. Maybe people take their dogs golfing.

  7. April 19, 2011 10:10 pm

    I love that Ziosk thing, such a great idea! I remember in Japan they had doorbells at some of the restaurants, I loved those too! You could ring the waitstaff when you needed anything/were ready to order etc.

    My friends and I often incorporate ourselves into photos with statues, we don’t stand beside them but imitate them etc. It’s fun!

    That explains that photo of you riding PP like she was a horse. Where was that taken again, Trafalgar Square?

  8. April 20, 2011 1:01 pm

    Haven’t you heard of poolf? It’s a new game where dog owners take their dog to a golf course and try to get them to poop in the little cup. If they manage it, they get four points, five if it’s a “nothing but net” shot. Three points for pooping on the green, two in the rough, one for poop in a sand trap, and zero for no poop at all. It’s a complex game involving careful timing. You’ll see it on TSN soon.

    That’s what that was! I’ve got the cable sports package. That was channel 400 something at like 2 in the morning a couple nights ago. Had no idea what it was. Thanks.

  9. April 22, 2011 3:16 pm

    I don’t know if I like the idea of the Ziosk unless it’s at a fast food place. It shouldn’t be in a full service restaurant.

    As for the Viking and the girl, no matter where you go, you find people who have no decency, morals or consideration. Europeans like to look down on Americans, but they are just as disgusting.

    Maybe the putter is to shove up the dog’s ass so he can’t shit? I don’t know.

    Europeans are the worst. The think their shit don’t stink.

    Well… I guess in comparison to their unbathed bodies, it don’t. But they stink like shit. And that’s bad enough.

Leave a Reply

