Skip to content

The Return of the Icky Stickies

June 1, 2011

The icky stickies have returned.

And boy did they ever return.

Last night, the sickly heat and humidity was very nasty. I had to sleep on top of my bed sheets last night. It was still an unbearable night.

In April, when I was in Florida, there was a hot streak. The weather there was hotter than normal for that time of the year. The mercury was in the thirties (Celsius) with that central Florida humidity.

I was able to tolerate that climate and sleep relatively well.

I didn’t have my air conditioner on. May is too soon for air conditioning. This is Canada. Hot and humid weather, no matter what, no air conditioning until June.

My biggest complaint with this weather, other than my inability to sleep through it, is the icky stickies. I always feel dirty in this weather. No amount of showering and soaping seems to wash this filth off.

To make matters worse, when I did fall asleep, I had some messed up dreams. First, I dreamed that Andrea Bocelli was singing on the Conan O’Brien show. That would have made sense had I fallen asleep with the television on the channel that plays Conan. But I didn’t. And he was singing You Raise Me Up, which if I’m not mistaken, is a Josh Groban tune. Then I dreamed I was in a central American jungle warzone. That makes more sense. I’m pretty sure those central American jungles are pretty hot and humid.

And now for today’s Faggot of the Day.

There are lots of people complaining about this heat. Sure, I’m one of them. But many of them are the same people who complain about the winter’s cold.

Sheesh! What’s up with those people?

I don’t mind the cold. When it’s cold, I can always add layers of clothing. When it’s hot, I can’t take off my skin.

To those people who’ve complained that the winter is too cold and still complain that the summer is too hot, you are today’s faggot of the day.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 12:59 pm

    It was only May until midnight. You could have turned on the AC at 12:01 am. Now, don’t you feel silly for lying there and suffering all night?

  2. June 1, 2011 2:16 pm

    I’m not a fan of extremes, hot OR cold, but I prefer the cold if I have to choose. And for the exact same reasons as you. I can always ADD a layer when cold, but too hot? Too bad.

  3. June 1, 2011 4:50 pm

    Boy you draw a hard line! You could have turned the A/C on one day before June! I mean think about it – it was already June somewhere in the world!

    Yep, I complain about the extremes in temperature, whether it’s too hot OR too cold. It’s not about liking one and not liking the other, it’s about being outside of my comfort zone. Same coin – both sides suck equally, therefore receive equal complaint time. Neener!

  4. Riot Kitty permalink
    June 1, 2011 6:52 pm

    Andreas Bocelli on Conan? Did you eat something weird before you went to sleep? If it’s any consolation, we have yet to see spring here. It’s been in the 50s and raining all fucking day long.

  5. June 1, 2011 9:55 pm

    I hate when this weather strikes while school is still on. The building isn’t air-conditioned, and teenagers can be foul when they are too hot.

    oh yeah, that’s gotta suck

  6. June 1, 2011 11:43 pm

    but those faggots all want perpetual spring/fall! is that too much to ask? i’m a firm believer that it is quite simple to warm up, but cooling off requires work, and often the exposure of FAR too much flesh. at home, i can take a shower in a t-shirt, then sit around in my skivvies allowing evaporative cooling to compensate for my DEAD FUCKING AIR CONDITIONER. which got fixed today. yay.

    air conditioners are cool, but I like sitting in the trunk freezer.

    I miss my trunk freezer.

  7. June 2, 2011 5:28 am

    You should come to England – no matter what the weather is, people will moan about it!

    I like the line in Good Morning Vietnam:

    It’s hot and it’s wet. That’s great when you’re with a lady, but not when you’re in the jungle.

    some ladies are like a jungle

  8. June 13, 2011 12:46 am

    It’s still raining and/or snowing here. It’s getting tiresome.

    Send that snow over here. I can take it.

Leave a Reply

