Skip to content

My Tommy Boy Moment

July 28, 2011

Since the weather has returned to a tolerable condition, I’ve shut off the air conditioning in the car and have been driving with the windows open.

WIth the car windows open, it’s only natural to have various things waft into the car. For example, those white fluffy weed things that appear as the dandelions turn ugly and brown. They’re impossible to catch but eventually they just flitter out the other side of the car.

Yesterday, in the middle of the day, something different flew into my car. It was bee-like in the sense that it had the yellow and black stripe thing going on. However, it was also wasp-like in the sense that it had the elongated abdomen. But it was also ant-like in the sense that it had longer legs stretching out from the side of the beast with those hard-angled bends halfway down the leg. It rested on the panel between the gear shift and my knee.

I’m a bit of pussy and a big girl’s blouse when it comes to some bugs. But when I’m alone in a car with a stingy bug, I freak out.

There’s one thing I know about bees and bee-like things. They smell carbon dioxide and it pisses them off. Sometimes, enough to sting the source of the carbon dioxide.

I did my best not to freak out and breath too much. I casually pulled over to the side of the road, opened all the windows and sun roof, then I got the hell outta my car.

After a dozen seconds or so, the beast flew out of my car and I made sure I kept the car between me and it.

It always worries me when a stingy thing flies into my car while I’m driving. One untimely jerk of the wheel and I’m roadkill.

And I don’t wanna be roadkill.

And bother trying to guess who the Faggot of the Day is today. It’s pretty obvious, isn’t it, girlfriend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 6:05 pm

    That sounds just like the kind of wasp that got me last summer.

    I thought you handled it well. And if anyone ever wants to give you a hard time, just tell them you’re allergic. They won’t call you a pussy then!

    I play the allergy card enough.

  2. Riot Kitty permalink
    July 29, 2011 1:26 am

    I’m right there with you. There was a spider in the shower and I literally said, out loud, “Swim at your own risk. There is no lifeguard on duty.”

    I found a spider in my shower right before I cleaned my shower. “Hey spider, want some bleach?”

  3. August 3, 2011 12:14 pm

    I got stung by a bee that flew in through the car window a few years back. I despise bees/wasps and they despise me.

    what’s worse: bee sting or paintball

Leave a Reply

