Skip to content

A WalMart Experience

August 8, 2011

I just wanted to have some digital photographs developed. I loaded up a bunch of photos to a USB flash drive and moseyed on down to a nearby WalMart.

If you haven’t tried it, it’s a very simple and in expensive process to have digital photographs printed. There’s a bank of Kodak do-it-yourself photo computers. Plug in your storage apparatus and select which photos you want to print and how you would like them to print. You can even do some minor edits to the photos.

So, there I am, lazy Sunday afternoon at WalMart trying to plug in my USB flash drive and receiving various error messages on the computer screen because there must be a problem with my flash drive. I know my flash drive and I know it’s finicky nature. As I’m trying to interpret the error message a man in a blue smock approaches me, removes the USB flash drive, waves his index finger like he was scolding a child and says “No.”

“No, what?”

“No.”

I knew my USB flash drive wasn’t working properly. I was just trying to determine if it was my drive having an internal error or if it was my drive having a physical error by not being able to properly dock in the port. The drive itself has a retractable plug so properly docking has been a problem for me in the past. But it was this guy’s attitude that totally rubbed me the wrong way.

I grabbed my drive and left the store. I could have complained, but why? What would I have achieved. I went back home, transferred the files onto a second USB flash drive (just in case) and brought both to a different WalMart. One hour later, my photos were printed and I was on my way back home with fourteen prints. At twenty cents a print, I was content.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 8:20 am

    Ah, Wal-mart! Who doesn’t love it? Me, that’s who. I’m glad it worked out, but people like that guy make me want to b!tch-slap someone.

    I can’t be bothered to bitch-slap people. I can think of more productive things to do with my time.

  2. Bob permalink
    August 8, 2011 9:21 am

    Which walmart had the dick in it?

    brand new one by my house

  3. August 8, 2011 2:36 pm

    I wonder why he acted like that. Then again no one goes to Wal-Mart for professionalism.

    beats me

  4. August 8, 2011 8:26 pm

    That’s just bizarre. Well, I’ve never shopped in a Wal-Mart, and I’m not planning to start anytime soon.

    It’s gonna be hard to avoid. Soon, all stores will be WalMart.

  5. Riot Kitty permalink
    August 8, 2011 10:59 pm

    I hate it when adults treat other adults like children. But here’s one more reason not to go to Wal-Mart.

    That really rubbed me the wrong way.

  6. August 9, 2011 12:33 am

    What a weirdo! You know you can send them straight from your computer to the walmart site and voila 30 mins later you get an email saying “they’re ready” and off you go to pick them up. No annoying workers or hanging around the store.

    really…

  7. August 9, 2011 3:46 am

    Must be the Wally Weekend of the year or something. It hit both of us at the same time!

    Much as I love the genius and ingenuity of Mr Walton, what they’ve done with his business since he left the company is not a pretty thing at all. I don’t think he’d like it very much.

    Based on the pro Walton propaganda I’ve seen, he’d hate the current state of his business.

  8. August 9, 2011 4:16 am

    No.

    Love customer service like that!

    I sure find ways to find ’em, don’t I?

Leave a Reply

