Skip to content

War, Waaarrrr

September 9, 2011

Canada’s breakfast dollars are being hotly contested right now. I have been paying close attention to this battle and have been unable to make a strong allegiance to any restaurant.

First, Tim Hortons unleashed the breakfast biscuit sandwich which won my favour quickly. Then McDonald’s retaliated with a free coffee. That reminded me that McD’s makes a better coffee than Timmy’s. Timmy’s retort was to compete with the McMuffin by introducing hash browns and english muffins. Neither could compare to McDonald’s tried and true breakfast foods. At the start of this year, McDonald’s went full-on in the coffee game. Free wi-fi in restaurants, fireplaces, a breakfast biscuit and a whole slew of coffee-based products. They tried. The biscuit is not as good as Timmy’s. Now Tim Hortons has just fired back with something new.

In the past couple of days, I’ve tried a couple of products new to these two “good food quickly” restaurants.

On Wednesday, instead of just having a coffee at McDonald’s, I tried one of their new McCafe products. The vanilla McLatte is not a true latte. It is more like the Tim Hortons french vanilla cappuccino, which is a not true cappuccino. Both products are just powder mixed with hot water at the push of a button to create a hot vanilla and coffee flavoured slop. The Tim Hortons french vanilla cappuccino is amazing. I’ve been in awe of that product since I was in high school.

On a sidenote, this McLatte isn’t exactly a new product. I remember seeing a french vanilla instant powder coffee-based beverage in a McDonald’s in some rest stop along an interstate in I think Pennsylvania. I was on a bus trip and I wasn’t exactly sure what state I was in. But that McDonald’s was also serving the Big Cheesy, a quadruple patty quadruple cheese slice hamburger.

So, this new McLatte, how did it taste? Well, it tasted like it wanted to be the Tim Hortons french vanilla cappuccino, but it failed. The flavour ingredients were too pungent and stiff to be enjoyable.

Then, this morning I tried a new bagel at Tim Hortons. Timmy’s has introduced a line of new “specialty bagels” to differ from their “classic bagels.” By having two grades of bagels, they can sell them at different price points. The specialty bagels are an extra forty-four cents above the price of the classic bagels.

The bagel I tried just this morning was the maple cinnamon french toast bagel.

When I first heard of this bagel, I was excited. The Great Canadian Bagel’s french toast bagel was a staple of my college diet. Each morning before class, I would breakfast on a poppy seed bagel and a french toast bagel with a cup of tea at the GCB in York Lanes while casually reading the Toronto Star. Unfortunately, Great Canadian Bagel was a poorly operated franchise chain which has become sparsely located today, if it still is in business today.

This morning I sat down and gazed at my new cinnamon maple french toast bagel toasted with butter. I picked up a half slice of the bagel and noticed the bagel was coated with a sticky, cinnamon-like goo. I bit into the bagel and felt a rush of flavour. French… Toast… BAGEL!!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 8:59 am

    I am in awe of this creation, this French Toast Bagel. Too bad there are no Tim Horton’s near here or I would venture to try one.

    Interesting the war is between TH and McDonald’s. I wouldn’t have guessed anything fit into McD’s crappy little niche, which it pwns.

    McD’s has just become the number 2 “good food quickly” restaurant in the world behind Subway. They want to regain that #1 spot and they have decided that they will compete with the likes of Starbucks and Tim Hortons by way of breakfast and coffees.

  2. September 9, 2011 9:42 am

    That bagel sounds nice. I got to work early today and went to the Bagel Stop and got a couple of cheese bagels with butter on them. Nothing special. I also considered getting a crap sandwich from Burger King but seriously… it is like they aren’t even trying to compete with McDonald’s or Tim’s. Have you tried Burger King?

    BK’s breakfast sandwich tastes is better than McMuffin. And deep fried french toast sticks and hash brown nuggets. Oh fuck yeah, I’ve tried Breakfast King.

  3. September 9, 2011 10:44 am

    My vote will always go to Tim Horton’s.

    Spending one weekend in TO made you a Timmy’s believer?

  4. September 9, 2011 11:10 am

    Mmmm, that bagel sounds good. The new sundried tomato one sounds amazing too. I hope they’ll still have them around in December since I’m going carb-less till then :(

    I’m going through Iced-Capp withdrawals at the moment…

    What is this? That Atkins crap? The human body needs carbs dammit.

  5. September 9, 2011 8:33 pm

    What the hell happened to the Great Canadian Bagel? The last one I ever saw was near Avenue and Lawrence….

    I heard poor management from the corporate level. That’s what I heard.

  6. Riot Kitty permalink
    September 9, 2011 9:11 pm

    Mcanything usually has too many chemicals to taste real. They can’t even get oreo blizzards right.

    Because Dairy Queen soft-serve has fewer chemicals?

  7. September 10, 2011 2:34 pm

    Sounds like you have found a new bagel-y love. :)

    That’s right. I love that new bagel. In fact, I’ve my wang in a bagel right now.

Leave a Reply

