Skip to content

TVC 15

September 27, 2011

Saturday night at the bar, I happened to notice the hockey game on the television screens. For Canadians, this is common occurrence during the fall and winter and spring, well pretty much every Saturday night except in the summer. Hockey never seems to stop until it’s just too damned hot to keep the ice frozen properly. Something I noticed in the game itself was very odd. I think the game was being played in a time-warp or something. There were no advertisements on the boards. Or on the ice. Everything was just so very very white.

It disturbed me a bit. Sure, it’s better for me as the viewer. No distractions. No stupid reminders to buy things I don’t want to buy. But it gives me an appetite for something I can never truly get. A life without advertisement.

This game was just a pre-season exhibition game. The regular season and playoff games are going to be filled to the brim with girlish glee of advertising.

In other television watching news, did anybody see How I Met Your Mother last night? Ugh. I gotta stop watching that show. First off, everyone on that show is scum. And now, it seems to look like the show is heading towards a marriage of Barney and Robin. We gotta stop the Barbin.

Sure, I could just stop watching How I Met Your Mother altogether but that’s probably not going to happen. I’ve been bitching about how that show has gone from cheesy to just plain crappy since the third season. Yet, I’m still watching it.

Maybe it’s time to recast the whole of Robin. I say replace her with the chick from that show with Patrick Warburton and David Spade. I don’t know her name. Hell, I can’t even remember the name of the show. Nor do I think she has any acting chops greater than Cobie Smulders. But at least she’s still pleasant on the eyes. Cobie Smulders has had counter-productive plastic surgery. She is not suitable for being viewed by those with sight.

Oh, and if anybody remembers the name of that show, please leave it in the comments. This is one of those things that will bother me all day but I can’t be bothered to actually look it up.

This post was brought to you by Mastercard.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 8:33 am

    I’d love to watch a sporting event — or any OTHER television program for that matter — without advertising. And I can’t imagine why this continues. Yes, providing paid advertising is a small cost for the entertainment provided, but the balance is shifting so dramatically away from the show and onto the advertising it’s almost not worth it anymore.

    Unlike other media, television is uniquely positioned to utilize Internet-style advertising and run a ticker, or constant runner, so there’s no need for commercials. Yet, they continue to operate just as they have for 60+ years, and refuse to adapt to new methodologies. More advertisers will pay less and get as much or more exposure during a full 60-minute program than they are able to get from three 15- or 30-second spots during that same show. For every 60 minutes of programming, there are 15 minutes of advertising now? This is out of control.

    Ah, well. No one asked me. But I also agree with you on this show — just from what you’ve written it tanked a while back. Putting it out of its misery sounds like a kindness now.

    I think broadcasters should bring back unrestricted cigarette and alcohol advertising. Those companies got big pockets and always make the best commercials.

  2. September 27, 2011 8:35 am

    Now that IS priceless!

    I can see how a lack of advertising would cause you to feel odd – can’t imagine that these days!

    it’s like watching the classic sports channel with games from the 1970s.

  3. September 27, 2011 9:50 am

    Rules of Engagement.

    After your plastic surgery comment from last week, we watched the episode last night looking at Robin. I don’t see the nose job. I see that she has lost a lot of weight. I think that is what you are seeing. She is a lot thinner, it even shows in her face. She doesn’t look healthy anymore.

    Her nose is different.

  4. September 27, 2011 12:01 pm

    You can recast her a dozen times and I still wouldn’t buy the relationship.

    But recasting her would provide a more pleasant sight.

  5. September 27, 2011 6:03 pm

    Ah yes, sports advertising. That brings to mind Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby. Remember the Fig Newtons ad?
    I’m doing my best to forget that Will Ferrell exists.

  6. September 28, 2011 5:51 pm

    The Emperor’s New Groove?

    I miss the ad-free days. When I was a kid, stadiums were just stadiums, like the Oakland Coliseum, and Candlestick Park. The whole naming rights thing by the advertisers is a major SUCK.

    ROFLMAO at that commercial! That was good!

  7. J.J. permalink
    October 1, 2012 11:58 pm

    There is definitely some plastic surgery going on with that girl. Or some sort of misdirected filler or something. Maybe she had her eyes done. I can’t tell, but her features look out of proportion now. Not a good look at all.

Leave a Reply

