Skip to content

Weekend Recap: Video Games

October 11, 2011

Got me some video games on the weekend. First one is called Lucha Libre: Heroes del Ring. It’s a Mexican wrestling video game. Pretty simple game, not unlike other current generation wrestling video games except the obvious difference of using luchadors instead of wrestlers made popular in WWE or other American wrestling promotions. This game could be a lot of fun for me and my brother to play after our usual Sunday dinner.

The other game I picked up is Rage.

I didn’t know very much about the game prior to playing it. What I knew about the game was pretty simple and vague: it’s a first person shooter with a large vehicle component; and it’s made by the same guys who made Doom and Quake.

I never liked Quake. It never appealed to me. But Doom is quite possibly one of my favourite video games ever.

I played Rage for, according to the save game details, for about an hour and half so far. What I’ve concluded about this game is that it’s Wolfenstein with a different environment.

Wolfenstein is a FPS with slightly non-linear missions in a WWII motif. Rage is Wolfenstein in a bigger Mad Max-esque world. No Nazis in Rage. Well, no Nazis yet. You can never be too sure there aren’t any Nazis. So far, all I’ve encountered have been bandits and mutants, but there could be Nazis somewhere. Maybe I just haven’t found them yet.

The graphics and motion in Rage are similar to Wolfenstein. The fluidity of the motion is almost hypnotic. Each time I fire my double barrel shotgun, my character pops open the breach and loads another pair of shells. Just like in Doom ][ except the sprite sequence is much more complicated and detailed.

And I’m pretty sure John Goodman provides the voice for a major character in the game. I keep expecting to be called Rosie by this character. I have yet to adjust to recognizing voices in video games. I remember when the only sounds a video game produced were bleeps and bloops.

Well, that’s enough blogging for now. My break from gaming is over. Gots me some mutants to kill.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 10:19 am

    Kill them mutants, boy!

    I remember Castle Wolfenstein for the Commodore C-64. Very cool game. Not like they are now, of course, but still cool

    It was like Pac-Man vs. Nazis. Cool game.

  2. October 11, 2011 10:19 pm

    Did you eat some turkey in between this video game playing?

    p.s. You commented you haven’t bought any music in awhile. Have you ever been to Soundscapes on College St.? They have a lot of interesting stuff, including, you know, stuff from before my time. You should go there if you haven’t.

    Todd Rundgren re-released a bunch of stuff with bonus tracks. That might be my next purchase.
    As for interesting older stuff. There isn’t much left. I have most of it.

    And I ate some chicken.

  3. October 12, 2011 8:25 am

    The kids are busy playing Gears of War 3 and Dead Island. They look great – wish I had the time to play too!

  4. October 16, 2011 3:29 am

    I hope by now you’ve totally defeated the game in a frenzy of mutant butt-kicking!

    And I hope you had a happy Thanksgiving. :)

Leave a comment