Skip to content

Google vs. Privacy

October 31, 2011

Seriously, Google, you already know too much. Stop snooping around for more. I just asked Google “What does my ass taste like?” In under half a second, forty seven million results. Google, you know too much.

Google knows more about a single person than that person knows of themself.

It used to be that once in a while, when I logged into my Google account, I was prompted to tell Google my mobile phone number. Not give a phone number, but specifically asked for a mobile phone number. I always clicked to skip that step. Sure, Google sells it as a security feature so as to protect my account from getting hijacked. Well, Google, if you’re so concerned for my security, you’ll understand why I don’t give that information out.

As of these past few days, I am prompted for that information every single time I log in.

Google states “Google will only use your number for account security. We’ll never share it with other companies or send you unwanted messages—ever.” Okay, maybe now that’s true. But how hard would it be for Google to issue a “Change of Terms of Service” notice where they state that they might sell or use phone numbers given to them willingly. But that’s unlikely. It’s not like Google is in the mobile phone industry… And that statement does not claim that Google won’t use that number for tracking purposes. In truth, Google knows very little about me. With my phone number, Google can find out with certainty what my name is, where I live and obtain my credit information. That is need to know information and Google doesn’t need to know.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 2:50 pm

    I hate facebook for the lack of privacy. Is google just as bad?

    knowledge is power, why do you think both google and facebook have so much value, they have knowledge and people will pay for that knowledge

  2. October 31, 2011 3:38 pm

    My drunken roommate and I fight about this all the time. I feel you give up most, if not all, of your privacy when you blog/have a facebook account/tweet. It’s just what happens when you reach out and touch strangers. I don’t give out more information than I have to, but what’s out there is out there for anyone to see.

    I lost all my privacy when I reached out and touched strangers. Got thrown in a holding cell and had to pee in front of twelve other guys.

  3. October 31, 2011 10:06 pm

    You have to admit that that Google doodle today was pretty awesome. Hmmm, privacy vs. google doodles… that’s a tough one. ;)

    Google does too many doodles. And these days, a lot of people search from a tab in their browser, or directly from the browser’s address bar. Then the doodle appears rather small in the corner, so what’s the point of having the doodle?

  4. Riot Kitty permalink
    November 1, 2011 12:33 am

    I hate that. I’ve been skipping it every time and I wish there was a box where I could type, “BTW, fuck you!” to the powers that be.

    I’m going to start looking for a competitor’s product to do what Google Reader does.

  5. November 1, 2011 3:29 am

    I hate the demand. Google is like some guy at a bar who just won’t leave you alone and keeps pestering you and makes you kind of afraid that maybe he’ll follow you home and attack you or something. Hey! Why don’t you give Google the phone number to your local funeral home! I bet that would put a stop to their harassing you for your phone number! It’ll never know!

    Yes it will. You think Google doesn’t know the phone numbers to every funeral home in the world?

Leave a Reply

