Skip to content

Moe-vember

November 1, 2011

Listen up you wise guys. It’s Moe-vember. It’s the month to honour Moe.

I’m sorry. Did you think I was soliciting money for growing a moustache? Listen. I don’t need to reason to grow a shitty moustache. I do it for free.

But I am here to today to honour Moe Howard, the leader of the Three Stooges.

Like many early film and television comedians, Moe learned his trade in vaudeville. That is where the Stooges first worked together. In various configurations, the Stooges would work until the early 1970s, always with Moe.

My favourite Stooges routine, other than the obvious pie-in-the-face-of-a-well-to-do-woman which always seemed to happen, was when the Stooges were making beer. Each Stooge was unaware of the other Stooges having put yeast in the brew, put more yeast in the brew. This causes the beer to overflow and hilarity ensued. Not to mention the poke in eyes and the bonk on the head.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2011 8:34 am

    I guess I don’t remember that particular episode, but it seemed there were several cases of Stooges not knowing what the other Stooges did to the stew, soup, beer, wine, etc. A great running gag. That, and the spitting clam in the soup.

    The spitting clam in the soup. Yeah. That was a good one.

  2. November 1, 2011 8:36 am

    Wonder what would happen if you made that sort of movie again?

    Who could pull if off?

    The Farrelly brothers are currently producing a movie. Probably gonna suck. They haven’t made a really good movie other than Kingpin.

  3. November 1, 2011 9:23 am

    I am participating in Movember again. Shaved this morning!

    I thought the point was to NOT shave in November. Shit dude! You couldn’t even go 12 hours. You suck!

  4. November 1, 2011 12:28 pm

    I used to love the episode where they were in medevil England. I’m not sure why as I haven’t seen it in years. I’ll have to check out the beer brewing one.

    You get AMC? They play a lot of Stooges on weekend mornings.

  5. November 1, 2011 12:43 pm

    You’ll grow a moustache for free? And post a photo of yourself wearing said moustache on this blog, for free? I dare you.

    I thought I already did. Read this post here. I’m the one on the right.

  6. Riot Kitty permalink
    November 1, 2011 6:23 pm

    You need to post a real picture of the moustache.

    Says who?

  7. November 2, 2011 1:41 am

    Personally, I love facial hair on men. To a point. I mean, not like ZZTop, but a decently trimmed beard and moustache, awesome. :)

    Moe, all the Stooges, were really comedic geniuses. I didn’t appreciate them when I was younger and the boys in school would mimic them and generally be irritating. But I have come to appreciate them in recent years. And my son likes them. :)

    Are you sure you’re not a gay man?

Leave a Reply

