Skip to content

Weekend Recap: Finally a Weekend Worth Recapping

November 14, 2011

I’ve had quite a weekend. Lots of fun and friends and family and happy stuff. This was not one of those weekends where I laid around the house and did fuck all. So, let’s go.

Friday

After work I went to the gym. I haven’t been to the gym in two weeks. Between working late most nights and going home early because I was sick, I couldn’t make it to the gym. So on Friday, I forced myself and went to the gym. I worked until I felt sick to my stomach then I went home.

Once home I showered and went out again to pick up some take-out. Pizza. And not even good pizza, crappy pizza from Little Caesar’s. Boy, did that ever go down easy or what? For dessert, a doughnut. Yes I know, probably not good choices on the healthy scale but screw the healthy scale. I wanted to feel good in my soul. And you know what? I felt good in my soul. That’s more important and living a long, grumpy, joyless life.

Saturday

I went to work for just a little bit then I drove out to Brampton to hit Denny’s. I had a respectable Grand Slam breakfast. Two items from the healthy options list.

To walk off my breakfast, I drove down to Sauggytown and went to Square One, the big mall out there. At Square One, I found some simple, cheap, red t-shirts at Old Navy. Sure, they’re pretty crappy quality but they’re t-shirts without stupid logos and crazy sayings on them. They’re just plain t-shirts.

Footie Pajamas

Then at another store I was shown a selection of footie pajamas. Footie pajamas in adult sizes with funny designs. This picture here shows the design that I picked out for myself. Various monkeys enjoying bananas. I finally found me some footie pajamas.

Here are some answers to questions you are about to ask. The backdoor is velcro. The fabric is fleece or polyester fleece. The soles of the feet are padded with little rubber dots for traction. I don’t care how silly there are. I like them. That’s what’s important.

In the evening, I caught a movie called Moneyball. It is the tale of how a general manager and a statistician working for a baseball team with a small budget managed to make the playoffs after ignoring the hunches of the team’s scouts and coaches. It was a good movie. And it’s about time a good movie was made. I haven’t seen a really good new movie in years. But it was a very quiet movie. There were times I could hear people talking in the theatre next door. Unless it was a case of the theatre’s audio system failing which I would not be surprised if that were true.

Sunday

I went out for brunch with my brother and sister at this old diner in downtown Richmond Hill, the 3 Coins Open Kitchen Restaurant.

The oldest part of Richmond Hill, downtown Richmond Hill is just a short stretch on the major street, Yonge Street.

For a long time, Richmond Hill was just this farming community that also happened to be a ride north from Toronto on the one street that existed to travel north from Toronto. Downtown Richmond Hill sprouted many years ago because people traveling north from Toronto or south to Toronto needed a place to stop for the night. Of course now Richmond Hill is a thriving suburban town with something like one hundred and ninety thousand residents.

This little restaurant has been there in Richmond Hill for who knows how long. When I moved into Richmond Hill in 1987, it was there and it looked like it had been there forever. Twenty four years later, it is one of the few businesses in downtown Richmond Hill that is still there. Even the infamous Fantasia titty bar is gone, but the 3 Coins is still there.

This was the first time either me or my brother had tried this place. You know, it wasn’t bad. The food tasted good. Hours later it wasn’t bothering my tummy. No complaints. I would go back for a Sunday brunch without question. The place was not as scary as I imagined it.

After brunch, we walked off our meal at Hillcrest Mall. I didn’t buy anything nor did I find anything worth buying. Between being shopped out the day before at a better mall, I wasn’t going to continue on Sunday at crappy Hillcrest Mall. But I got a good walk.

On the way back to my bro’s place, my sister decided she had to get some Starbucks. The Starbucks by their place was packed. It was really busy. And not just the usual Starbucks busy with people ignoring the fact that they’re in public by immersing themselves in their laptops with the free wi-fi. The Starbucks was busy with little kids running around. By the time I got to order, I swear I thought I was at McDonald’s. I nearly ordered a six pack of McNuggets. C’mon! The kids are all hyped up on something so what better place to bring them than a place where want some quiet while consuming products laced with sugar and caffeine. We got our drinks to go.

For dinner with my parents, my mother decided to order pizza. Pizza from Abruzzo’s Pizza. Good pizza. Oh fuck. I’m so fat right now.

I filled up the rest of Sunday with helping my dad in the yard with the leaves and doing numerous loads of laundry.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 9:36 am

    After reading all that… I am now hungry.

    I suggest Abruzzo’s. I think you’ve heard of that pizza place.

  2. November 14, 2011 12:55 pm

    That’s one amazing sounding weekend, complete with fattening good-for-the-soul foods and monkey footie pajamas. Life doesn’t get a lot better than that.

    life is certainly good right now

  3. November 14, 2011 4:33 pm

    Where on earth did you find grownup-sized footie pj’s? A friend of my has been hankering after a pair for at least ten years, and has never had any luck finding them. Please share.

    I’ve been looking since the late 90s when I came across some kiddie footie pajamas at the Disney Store in Boston. I saw a set of Winnie the Pooh footie pajamas complete with a hood that had ears. They only had kids sizes and the people working there gave me funny looks for inquiring about adult sizes.

  4. November 14, 2011 4:59 pm

    i have the pink footie pajamas. with yellow duckies on them. and in the coldest days of winter? there is nothing – NOTHING – finer…. excellent choice.

    I don’t understand why I should be ridiculed for wanting to be warm, IN CANADA!

  5. Riot Kitty permalink
    November 14, 2011 6:37 pm

    I have been searching for footie pjs in adult sizes for years!

    lots of web retailers, but kinda of a hard thing to size

  6. November 14, 2011 7:50 pm

    Glad you found something fun to buy. :)

    and wear!

  7. November 14, 2011 11:48 pm

    I bet you look so cute if your footie pjs! :D I want pictures!

    Honestly, I think every home in Canada should come stocked with footie pjs. You people define cold! Brr!

    Sounds like you had a nice weekend! You know, as for good movies, we’ve been finding that foreign films have been offering a lot of satisfaction in that area. Not so filled with an agenda, just good storytelling.

    Being Canadian, every film that doesn’t involve Paul Gross or Colm Feore is a foreign film.

  8. November 16, 2011 12:10 pm

    I agree the Little Caesars ready to go pizzas always make me feel bleh afterwards, like I’ve eaten 30 bricks.

    then you’re eating the wrong pizza cuz little caesar’s puts me in a good mood

  9. November 16, 2011 8:18 pm

    Footie PJs?! Oh my God, I’ve been looking for those for years!! I always wear socks to bed, even in the summertime, so these things would really save me the time and effort of having to put pjs and socks on separately.

    What store did you find them at? I’m guessing I won’t find any in Ottawa anyhow, so be a dear and send me a pair! Thank you! :)

    Clothing store called Boathouse.

Leave a Reply

