Skip to content

Product Placement in Movies

November 20, 2011

Last night I watched the third installment of the Harold and Kumar series. The movie didn’t make much sense to me as I had not seen the second film. Also, I was not high.

In the film was a two foot tall robot called Wafflebot. It walked around and served fresh-made waffles. Then it started badmouthing pancakes.

But product placement in movies today works. Wafflebot may not be real, but the waffle I ate less than an hour after the movie finished was real, and it was delicious.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Riot Kitty permalink
    November 20, 2011 8:29 pm

    Nom! I want a Wafflebot.

    This movie will probably push waffles more than it pushes drugs.

  2. November 21, 2011 9:29 am

    I didn’t think Harold and Kumar was your kind of movie. Did somebody twist your arm to get to go see it?

    First one was pretty good. Skipped the second on your advice.

  3. November 21, 2011 9:54 am

    I want to make a movie that pushes Bacon and Onion Pudding…

    Got a name for that movie. It’s called “Wasted Bacon.”

  4. November 21, 2011 7:20 pm

    Big Waffle got the best of you, eh?

    I saw The Goonies this weekend and there is mad (and obvious) product placement for Pepsi, Domino’s Pizza, and Baby Ruth in it. I think product placement in the 80s is far less subtle.

    Don’t forget Superman t-shirts and eye-patches. When I saw that movie when I was a kid, I was all up in the pirate shit.

  5. November 23, 2011 3:44 am

    Mmmm waffles! No idea who Harold and Kumar are, but waffles, with lots of butter and syrup, sound yummy. :)

    Kumar is a speech-writer for President Obama.

Leave a Reply

