Skip to content

The Musical Box

December 2, 2011

In today’s musical environment, I find myself unable to like most new music. Whether it be a new up-and-coming act or an experienced act, I’m finding the musical options available today to be dull. I’m having to travel back in time to be musically entertained. Unfortunately, my Delorian is in the shop, so the closest thing I can find to traveling back in time is a really good tribute band.

Tomorrow night I am going to see The Musical Box again. It has been a few years since I’ve seen The Musical Box. This show I am seeing will be a performance of The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway. This will be the fourth time that I’m seeing that performance.

The Lamb is a weird story. I’m not quite sure I understand it. I’m not quite sure anybody understands. I think it’s intentionally confusing. The following is my brief interpretation of the story.

Rael, a young man in New York City gets hit by a car and dies in the street. He then journeys through the afterlife and remembers his first sexual experience. While in Purgatory, Rael is punished for his sexual desires by having his penis removed. The penisectomy is performed to cure his raging case of herpes. Although removed, he is allowed to keep it in a tube-shaped jar. A bird manages to swoop down and steal this penis jar from Rael then drops it in a river. Rael chases his penis down the river where he finds his brother John drowning. Unable to save both his brother and his penis, Rael decides to only save his brother. This act ascends Rael to Heaven. The end.

Genesis, the band who originally performed The Lamb back in late 1974-early 1975, have not performed The Lamb since. Peter Gabriel, the brains behind The Lamb’s story quit the band immediately after the tour. The Musical Box have been doing The Lamb for a decade or so now. Unlike most tribute bands, The Musical Box is more accurately a Genesis franchise. They only do Genesis and they only do Genesis the way Genesis did Genesis. Same instruments, setlists, costumes and between song banter. I swear to God, The Musical Box repeats the between song banter that’s been caught on various live recordings. The show is that detailed.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 8:42 am

    That album is epic. Listen to it all the time and can visualize everything, at least the way my mind would see it. I’m going to have to look into The Musical Box because I’d really like to see/hear their interpretation.

    they tour the world, usually hit the states earlier in the fall, then onto canada then europe in the new year, every year

  2. December 2, 2011 8:44 am

    That’s a pretty interesting sounding story, WIGSF. I don’t know thing one about Genesis’s story, but yours is really good. Maybe I’ll make that my next novel and see if I get sued by Genesis. If I do, I’ll know your interpretation was accurate.

    That’s pretty detailed, too. Wow. Who knew there was enough money in being a tribute band to make a living being echoes of someone else?

    give the album a listen, see what you can come up with

  3. December 2, 2011 7:34 pm

    That photo is creepy….

    the saggy testicles are actually balloons that inflate during the song

  4. Riot Kitty permalink
    December 2, 2011 7:39 pm

    Seriously? SERIOUSLY!!! Why don’t they just call it The Fucked Up Penis story?

    kinda hard to sell records in stores with that title

  5. December 3, 2011 1:48 pm

    Is the Musical Box a band? Hope you have fun at your weird-o concert thing. ;)

    A band, yes.

  6. December 5, 2011 1:09 am

    That is some level of dedication! I’ve never heard of a band being that dedicated to the one they’re copying from. It’s like the ultimate fan thing. :)

    I hope you had a great time at the concert!

Leave a Reply

