Skip to content

Weekend Recap

December 5, 2011

Friday

I got home from work around 7pm. I did a load of laundry then a big load of fuck all. It had been a long day. I wanted to relax.

Saturday

In the morning, I did some more laundry and I hit the treadmill for a little bit.

In the afternoon, I drove into the city and went to that big mall downtown, the Eaton Centre. I noticed something in that mall. There is this one section where all the stores have fruit names. Lululemon, Mango, Banana Republic and the Apple Store. What’s up with that?

Another weird thing about this mall is the lack of a traditional Santa Claus. To see Santa, parents have to book a session for Santa’s Reading Time where Santa will read a story to upwards of one hundred children. For any one-on-one time with Santa, the children will have to use Skype.

For crying out loud, that urine-soaked Hell hole that is Vaughan Mills has two Santas, but Eaton Centre has Skype Santa and a librarian.

In the evening, I went to see The Musical Box perform The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway. The vocals were a bit low in the mix but I think that was to cover the singer having an off-night. Can’t all be winners. The drummer was on. He was ripping it up big time.

After a long day, I didn’t have the umph to drive home so I got a room and crashed for the night.

Sunday

I expect better from hotel toilets. Nuff said.

In the afternoon I did some more Christmas shopping. Almost done now. Just have to get the crappy generic gifts.

Pigs As Currency

I’m not making this up. The following is a direct quote I’m taking from the Dec. 5, 2011 issue of Sports Illustrated. The sign of the apocalypse feature:

The manager of Samoa’s rugby team was fined 100 pigs last week for his behavior at the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand, where he is alleged to have neglected the team and spent much of his time golfing and drinking with friends as Samoa went 2-2 and failed to advance.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2011 9:41 am

    Skype?! Are you serious?! WTF?!

    Kinda wish I was making that up, but I’m not.

  2. christielli permalink
    December 5, 2011 2:34 pm

    Ugh, the Eaton Centre’s a zoo at this time of year. I’m hoping to avoid it from here on out. Of course, I’ve barely started my Christmas shopping, so I don’t know if I can actually make good on that.

    I’ve never noticed the fruit theme before. :)

    That’s kind of cool that you got a room for a night just ‘cuz you were tired.

    the parking was already paid for and yeah, the show let out past my bedtime.

  3. Riot Kitty permalink
    December 5, 2011 7:07 pm

    Skype Santa? WTF!

    Yup, Skype Santa.

  4. December 5, 2011 10:32 pm

    Seriously, skype??? Kids can’t just line up and take a photo one on one anymore at the Eaton Centre?

    Nope. Gotta go elsewhere for a one on one photo-op with the Claus.

  5. December 12, 2011 1:25 am

    Skype Santa? Wow. That seems more a sign of the apocalypse than getting fined 100 pigs. A 100 pig fine seems more of a backward step to me. How would you deposit that?

    Glad you had a nice weekend though. :)

    Skype Santa is truly a sign of the end of days when it happens in the middle of North America’s fourth most populous region. It’s one thing if you live out in the boonies and it’s a two hour drive to the nearest sign of civilization and you want the kids to talk to Santa, but c’mon. Downtown Toronto is pretty built-up. Lotsa peoples. There is a demand for Santa Claus.

Leave a Reply

