Skip to content

Tipping

December 6, 2011

Since the chip-based credit cards began to flood the market under the auspices of security, shopping has become more work for me, the consumer.

Hello, the more work I have to do, the less I expect to pay for this crap.

At restaurants, it’s become a baffling ordeal to pay the fucking bill. Every time I whip out a card, the server has to fetch the portable card terminal.

Generally, the server stands over my shoulder as I navigate my way through the software on this terminal. I always feel like I’m being guilted into a higher tip than I would have given otherwise.

Each restaurant has a different machine. Some machines will give me the opportunity to tip by either % or $. Some machines will have a quickkey to tip 15%.

On Saturday, I noticed the quickkey was set to 16%. I wonder how many people noticed that the machine said 16% instead of 15. I wonder how many people tipped 16% thinking they were only giving 15.

I would prefer to pay cash for everything, but dammit, I don’t want to have to go to the bank machine every other day.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 7:34 am

    We don’t have those yet (the table-side card readers). i hate it when a gratuity amount is “suggested” or included. Often, for parties larger than 6 people, and 18% tip is included in the bill. Sadly, my standard tip for very good service is 20%. But if they make me tip 15% or 18%? Then that’s what they get…

    I understand the reason for the auto-tip, but does it have to be 18%? If the service sucks, which it certainly can at times, I don’t want to kick up 15 let alone 18 points.

  2. December 6, 2011 9:04 am

    Ugh, that’d suck. I’d hate to have the server standing over my shoulder watching me tip. That’s tasteless. And if they sucked? Well. Awkward doesn’t begin to cover that.

    Pretty soon places won’t even be accepting cash anymore. Sad, and bothersome.

    I tell you, it’s a guilt-trip, plain and simple. The good servers leave the card-reader at the table and walk away to go serve another table. They don’t hang around.

  3. December 6, 2011 9:35 am

    I hate the new chip readers too. At grocery stores, I never know if I should hand them the card or not.

    What about when you have to buy “umbrellas” at the lingerie store?

    Oh, I know. You’re in and out fast and you pay cash so as to leave no paper trail.

    Umbrellas at the lingerie store. Dude, you’re never gonna live that one down.

  4. December 6, 2011 12:56 pm

    16%? That is sneaky and uncalled for. I’ll usually round my tip up, but I don’t want pressure to do so.

    I don’t mind tipping well but I don’t like having it be sneaky like that. C’mon.

  5. December 6, 2011 2:16 pm

    I guess if you don’t want to carry cash, you can always just stay at home and cook! Haha, joking.

    I would prefer to carry cash but it can be a pain in the ass sometimes. Probably because I don’t have a wallet and just stuff the money in my ass. Bills are okay, but the change is a real pain.

  6. Riot Kitty permalink
    December 6, 2011 9:57 pm

    We don’t have those yet…I’ll keep you posted and gripe about it when we do.

    There’s a lot to gripe about in regards to these things.

  7. December 9, 2011 10:04 pm

    Wow, that’s sneaky. Don’t eat there again.

    It was downtown, I’ll probably never be back around that area anytime soon anyways.

  8. December 12, 2011 1:48 am

    I don’t think I’ve seen the quickkey thing you mention, but having the server hover while you’re trying to pay is pretty rude, I think. I used to have a little card thing, looked like a credit card, but it had the tip amount listed for most dollar amounts up to like $100 so you could see at a glance how much tip to leave.

    Sounds like you need a wallet for Christmas. Be sure to tell Santa!

    I’ve already got two wallets and a money clip. I’m set. Just need some cash to put in it. And last I checked, the elves got busted that one year they made money.

  9. January 2, 2012 1:04 am

    I wouldn’t want to be the server who hovered. I would feel creepy. I can understand needing to get the machine back, but good servers don’t have the time to stand around while you try to figure out the machine. A good server would putz around with surrounding tables, giving you privacy, but being near if you need help. The only time I hover is when some asshole insists on using my pen. I tell them straight out, “I am going to stand here and look at you the entire time you have my pen so would you like me to bring you a different pen?”

    thanks for the opinions

Leave a Reply

