Skip to content

Me Brain No Work

December 7, 2011

Ever get the feeling that the day is just going to be one long series of flubbs, errors and mistakes? I’ve got that feeling today.

I crawled out of bed this morning and threw on a pair of track pants. Then I waddled into the kitchen for a cup of tea and a bowl of cereal. As I waited for the water to boil, I stuck my hands in my pockets. Well, I tried to stick my hands in my pockets.

I coulda sworn these pants had pockets… Oh, there they are… Why don’t they feel right…

I put my pants on backwards.

Could have been worse though. I could have put my bra on backwards.

And I heard this story yesterday about road rage and public transportation. This happened yesterday.

A TTC bus (public transit) was driving north, full of passengers. It was the evening rush hour. Some guy in a pickup truck was in a pissy mood. For some reason, maybe the bus cut him off or maybe he thought the bus cut him off. The guy ends up getting in front of the bus and stops.

The street this happened on was the main street of the town through the oldest part of the town. It’s two lanes each way with no room for right or left turn lanes. At rush hour, it’s bumper to bumper going north. The bus couldn’t get into the left lane to pass the truck. The pickup truck just stayed there, in park, right in front of the bus.

The bus driver did nothing. He just sat there and waited for the pickup to move. But it didn’t move. The bus driver didn’t try to get into the other lane. The bus driver didn’t honk his horn. The bus driver didn’t get out and yell at the pickup truck driver to move.

After a couple of minutes, the passengers on the bus got pissed off. And rightly so. A handful of passengers got off the bus and confronted the truck driver. They told him to move or they’d call the cops. He didn’t budge. So one passenger took a good hard look at the pickup’s license plate and called the police on his cellphone. That got the pickup to move.

Mr. pickup truck driver, what the heck are you doing? Getting all road ragey with a bus at rush hour.

Mr. TTC bus driver guy, what the heck are you doing? You do nothing? Geez, wonder why the TTC has had such bad public relations problems in the past couple of years. Some operators suck. This guy would rather just stay there and do nothing hoping for the situation to resolve itself. The driver never picked up his little radio thingee and called in to say “Yeah, I’m running late because some asshole is blocking me.”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2011 8:23 am

    Around these parts, bus drivers who start yelling at weirdos can end up on a slab. Generally, bus drivers aren’t commando types capable of Chuck Norris style a$$-kicking, so maybe he just decided it was better to let someone else take their life into their hands. Hard to blame him; he probably sat there thinking he didn’t get paid enough to get beat up.

    Still, what a jerk…to both.

    The bus driver did nothing. He didn’t radio in the problem. He didn’t try to change lanes. He just sat there and breathed.

  2. Bob permalink
    December 7, 2011 9:27 am

    What is the TTC driver suppose to do? Maybe there is a no “road rage” policy. Mind you, he probably should have radioed in.

    Radioed in or at least tried to change lanes. Maybe turn on the left turn signal and maybe someone would let him in.

  3. December 7, 2011 3:16 pm

    I think bus drivers should be able to carry rocket launchers with them.

    I’d settle for a Revenger.

  4. Riot Kitty permalink
    December 7, 2011 7:23 pm

    For the record, I believe it is impossible to put a bra on backwards. WTF with the pickup guy and the bus driver? Are they from Portland?

    Can’t put a bra on backwards. Sounds like a challenge to me.

  5. December 8, 2011 6:25 am

    I think our drivers are under orders to sit tight in situations like that – I have seen it several times.

    Personally I think that buses, ambulances, fire engines etc should have snow ploughs on the front all year round…

    Or a nice ancient Greek battering ram

  6. December 9, 2011 10:00 pm

    That could have never happened in Ottawa. We’ve had lots of stories in the news recently about our public transit drivers losing their cool for all sorts of reasons (one even got fired for it – which I disagreed with). That TTC driver should have done something; I think it’s extremely careless of him to sit there and let his passengers deal with the problem. Not cool at all on his part.

    Also, FYI, you know that small tag that’s sown into the seam of your pants? That goes to the back.

    I got that tag confused with the string at the front of the pants.

  7. December 12, 2011 2:01 am

    I hate days like that. They happen far too frequently for comfort.

    How weird the guy in the truck just sat there. What the heck? So you stopped in front of a bus? Does that make you a tough guy now? Bizarre.

    Marge Simpson did that once. It was called a nervous breakdown.

  8. January 2, 2012 1:08 am

    I’m surprised the passengers didn’t tip the truck over or fling poo at it. Maybe things are more civilized in Canada.

    or just more lazy

Leave a Reply

