Skip to content

Fergal the Christmas Hippo, continued

December 15, 2011

Anybody remember that children’s story I started last year around Christmas about a Christmas Hippo. Well, I’m continuing it a bit with the wonderful idea from Wiwille.

Hippotown prepared every day and every night for the coming of Santa Claus. The Christmas spirit filled the hearts of every hippo. All of the hippos in Hippotown took to wearing red noses and felt antlers or pointy little elf boots. Every hippo in town was overcome with joy and excitement for Santa’s visit on Christmas Eve.

As the sunset set to the west of Hippotown, all the hippos looked to the sky. They looked and they looked and they waited and they waited. As night settled in, away in the distance, the hippos of Hippotown heard something they had never heard before. They heard bells ringing and a man shouting.

Ring ring ring went the bells and “Ho ho help!” went the man.

As the sounds increased in volume, a large red sleigh being pulled by nine exhausted reindeer appeared in the sky. It quickly landed in the centre of Hippotown.

All of the hippos rushed to see Santa Claus and his reindeer. The rumble of a town full of hippos shook the earth.

Santa Claus greeted the crowd of Hippos.

“Hello fair hippos of Hippotown. Where is Fergal? I need his help.”

The crowd of hippos parted to reveal Fergal somewhere in the centre of the crowd.

“You need my help?” Fergal asked.

“Yes Fergal. You see, with your great speeches delivered to the elves this past year, they produced twice as many toys for the boys and girls. The sleigh is now too heavy for my reindeer to pull around the world.”

“But Santa, I’m a motivational hippo. I can’t inspire the toys to be less heavy or the reindeer to be stronger. How I can help?”

“You’re a hippo. Everybody knows hippos have the pulling strength of ten reindeer. If you help pull my sleigh, I can deliver all of these wonderful toys to all the boys and girls around the world.”

“You want me to help pull the sleigh? Oh boy! Sure Santa. I’ll help pull your sleigh!”

Fergal strapped himself into the reins of the sleigh and they were off. Up they flew with such a powerful burst Santa’s hat fell off and landed in the centre of Hippotown.

With Santa’s hat, every hippo in Hippotown took turns wearing the hat and giving each other Christmas presents.

“Hip-ho-ho-ho!” each hippo shouted as each hippo donned Santa’s hat.

All night long and into morning, the hippos exchanged presents until Santa Claus and Fergal returned to Hippotown.

“Thank you for all of your help Fergal. Without you, I couldn’t have delivered all of these toys to the boys and girls around the world.” Santa Claus said.

“You’re very welcome Santa Claus. If you ever need help, I’m your helper hippo.” Fergal replied.

The last hippo in Hippotown returned Santa’s hat and then Santa Claus was off, back to the North Pole.

All of Christmas Day, Fergal told all the hippos of Hippotown about his adventures around the world helping to pull Santa’s sleigh.

The end.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 9:20 am

    EXCELLENT children’s story. I love this one. I really wanted to do the illustrations for it. Maybe I’ll do that when I have my vacation in a couple weeks.

    Great job!

    Go for it.

  2. Riot Kitty permalink
    December 15, 2011 12:46 pm

    Of course I remember Fergal! Love it. Hip-ho-ho.

    You remembered Fergal? I didn’t.

  3. December 15, 2011 1:08 pm

    Cute! All it needs are some watercolour illustrations and you could have a bestseller on your hands.

    I’ve always been preferred bold colours to watercolours

  4. Bob permalink
    December 15, 2011 1:14 pm

    that was beautiful.

    thank you

  5. December 16, 2011 12:53 am

    I remembered your story. :) And I’m just as impressed this year with it as I was last year. Good job!

Leave a Reply

