Skip to content

Weekend Recap

December 19, 2011

Friday

I went out for the evening, but with knowledge of having to have a long Saturday workday, I made it home and was in bed well before midnight. I went out for dinner in Wood-da-bridge.

On the way out of the restaurant, I stopped by a grocery store. The store closed at ten so I was in there pretty close to closing time. I was just in there to buy a litre of soy milk and some pastry desserts. At the express check-out cash, I was greeted by a teenage girl working the cash register, obviously she was just waiting for her shift to end so she could go home. I gave her a brain-teaser that she was not expecting.

“Does a sack of chestnuts make an appropriate Christmas present?”

“Huh?”

She looked bored. I was trying to engage her in some mental stimulation. Also, I wanted an opinion to help me decide whether or not to gift some chestnuts.

And how often do I get to use the term “sack of chestnuts” without sounding like a complete pervert.

Saturday

After a long and infuriating day at work, I went home and baked. I would have loved to have taken a nap, but I didn’t have the time. I had to bake some cookies and some gingerbowies. I spent a few hours in the kitchen baking cookies and then decorating the cookies and then packaging the cookies for various modes of delivery.

Oh, what’s a gingerbowie? A gingerbowie is a gingerbread man but iced differently. Instead of the usual gingerbread man face, the head is adorned solely with a red and blue lightning bolt. It’s a gingerbread man made to look like the album cover for Aladdin Sane. I did make some normal gingerbread men too. In fact, I iced no two gingerbreads alike. One gingerbread was made to be a cyclops. Another had it’s tongue sticking out. One gingerbread man had coconut shavings on it’s feet to look like it had walked in snow. I can be creative sometimes.

After delivering some of the baked goods. I went out for dinner. Montana’s is always a good choice for me. Lots of yummy fatty foods for me to choose from. Good service too.

After dinner, I relaxed on the couch and watched Bad Santa. It’s just not Christmas until I watch Bad Santa. I need my drinkin’, smokin’, shittin’, fuckin’ Santa Claus.

Sunday

I slept on Sunday. I slept a lot on Sunday. I slept in a bit then had breakfast and then took a nap.

Around lunchtime, my mother asked me to go to the grocery store and get her some eggs. She was doing some baking and had ran out of eggs. I asked her if she needed anything else because I wasn’t going to make two trips.

The instant I get into her kitchen with some eggs she tells me that she could use some bell peppers. I didn’t go back. She had to go without peppers.

Then I took another nap.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    December 19, 2011 9:23 am

    I want a Gingerbowie, I have never had one! You should post a picture of one.

    it’s a gingerbread man with a lightning bolt face

  2. December 19, 2011 11:27 am

    Doesn’t it drive you crazy when someone says they only need one thing, you get it, then you get back and hear about the other things they needed? My mother was famous for that crap. And she’d be a complete and total a$$, screaming and acting like the world ended and throwing a fit, if someone didn’t run out and get it.

    I need a nap too.

    sorry to bring that up then brag about napping

  3. December 19, 2011 4:27 pm

    Oooh, coconut as snow! I love it!

    A great-aunt of mine once made naked gingerbread men and women. She used poppy-seeds for body hair.

    Here are my thoughts as I read this comment:

    Okay, a gingerbread man with no icing at all, just a plain… oooh… an anatomically correct gingerbread man, yuck!

  4. Riot Kitty permalink
    December 19, 2011 7:46 pm

    I don’t know if I would be comfortable eating a cookie like that – might be a bit too creepy. Mind you, I wouldn’t mind nibbling a bit of Bowie.

    oh c’mon, you know you want one

  5. December 19, 2011 11:14 pm

    Gingerbowies = the awesome!

    Generally, anything bowie = the awesome.

  6. December 20, 2011 8:24 pm

    I’m with Bob you should totally post a photo! I want to see the Gingerbowies!

    They’re really not that impressive.

  7. December 25, 2011 1:14 pm

    For the record, I think a sack of chestnuts would be a great Christmas gift. The gift that keeps on giving!

    I think your cookies sound awesome, and I agree with the others – pictures!

Leave a Reply

