Skip to content

Marketing Question

December 29, 2011

Would somebody trained or skilled or experienced in marketing and/or advertising please answer this question for me. This is kind of a long-winded question. It’s not a yes or no thing. Let me paint the situation. I hear a certain kind of commercial on the radio (and sometimes on television) a lot for various radio talk shows. It always goes something like this.

Radio guy John Smith is rude, abrasive and disagrees with everything you’ve ever believed. But you listen anyways. Listen to John Smith on AM999.

I can think of two specific national radio talk show hosts who have in recent years had a promotional campaign just like that. The commercial tells me that I am a listener of that very program, regardless of whether or not I do, in fact, listen to that program. How is telling me that I listen to a specific program even though I don’t listen to it make me want to listen to it? And if I am listening to it already, well, then I didn’t need that commercial to make me want to listen to it.

Wouldn’t it make more sense to have a commercial like this:

Listen to John Smith on AM999. He’s entertaining and interesting. He will discuss topics that are important to you.

My copy is a bit blunt and could be completely bullshit. John Smith could be duller than watching paint dry. John Smith could discuss nothing of value to anybody. But at least it makes sense to me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2011 4:06 pm

    They are telling you that John Smith’s show is so good that even though you disagree with him you will still listen to him.

  2. January 2, 2012 2:08 am

    It seems to me like the ad is mimicking the talk show guy. The guy is rude and abrasive and so is the ad.

    Maybe?

Leave a Reply

