Skip to content

How I Spent My New Year’s Eve

January 1, 2012

December 30th, I had some friends over for a board game night. That’s when I learned that one of my friends was raised by wolves.

I had some munchie crunchie type foods out on the table, a can of Pringles. I noticed this one friend was gripping the lid of the can of Pringles and just being generally fidgety with it. Then she put it in her mouth and started to nibble on it.

Seriously, who does that?

Okay, that wasn’t New Year’s Eve, but I had to blog that. Seriously, who does that?

For New Year’s Eve itself, I stayed in. That’s the way I like it. I made myself dinner. Chicken fajitas and garlic bacon mashed potatoes. I was going to have some cherry pie for dessert the dinner was quite filling.

Then I watched a movie. Disney Pixar’s Up. Good movie. Depressing at time, but good.

At 12:01, my cellphone received some obligatory “Happy new year’s” text messages. None of which I saw until at least 9 in the morning. I was asleep at midnight. Comfy in my bed.

Yes, it may seem like I had a boring New Year’s Eve. Sure, it’s boring to people who want to drink too much and sleep someplace strange. I, didn’t want to drink too much and pass out someplace strange. I wanted to spend the night relaxing. If I can’t relax on a holiday, then when can I?

People who’ve known me for a while know well that I don’t like to celebrate New Year’s Eve. So I don’t. I turned down all invitation (not the singular tense of the term) I did receive and spent the night in. One of these days, my sister is going to get it that I don’t want to go out on December 31st and she’ll stop bugging me. Everyone else stopped inviting me last year.

Happy New Year everybody! Have a great 2012! And for those who believe the Mayan’s (an extinct civilization) belief that the world will end in 2012 because it’s the end of the Mayan calendar, listen to the words and advice of Brian Posehn: I don’t think it’s true, I just think you’re supposed to buy a new Mayan calendar.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2012 10:49 pm

    Happy New Year, WIGSF! I’m with you — I like having friends and all, but not the whole drink-too-much aspect of NYE.

    Love the Mayan Calendar joke, too. Used it on Twitter yesterday. No one cared. Guess I lack your delivery. :)

    not my joke

  2. January 2, 2012 1:43 am

    I told my drunken roommate that the Mayans stopped having time to make calendars when the Aztecs started chasing them through the jungle and carving their hearts out. He told me I was very arrogant.

    Arrogant, not extinct, what’s the diff?

  3. January 2, 2012 4:22 am

    I thought wolves were supposed to make good parents? Hmm. Who knew?

    I’m with you on the staying in for New Year’s. It’s like being out on that night is somehow a license for insanity. Craziness ensues! No thank you. Although, I do stay up to ring in the new year, I can’t even recall the last time I slept through it. 1966 maybe, when I was a toddler?

    I’d say I’ve seen more balls drop than Dick Clark on ABC but that just sounds dirty somehow.

    Anyway, happy new year! May it be abundant with blessing for you. :)

    zing!

  4. January 2, 2012 8:16 am

    I lost a bet regarding “Up”. not only was i the first to cry, but i cried three different times…

    i still consider new year’s eve “amateur night”. that’s when us professional drunks stay home, or go out dancing at a house party and drink soda all night!

    Exactly. If I wanna drink half a bottle of bourbon, I don’t need to check the calendar to see if it’s okay first.

  5. January 2, 2012 10:42 am

    Happy new year! Staying in for New Year’s Eve is definitely the way forward!

    Also, here in Canada, there’s usually snow and ice on the roads on NYE

  6. January 2, 2012 6:27 pm

    Hahaha, I like that last line.

    Yah, NYE is never my fave night either. I’ve spent many NYEs watching movies etc.

    Happy 2012!

    Staying in is the way of the future. And Brian Posehn is a pretty funny guy.

  7. January 2, 2012 7:01 pm

    I did not stay in but it was the first year I actually contemplated doing so. Happy New Year!

    So, what did you do instead of staying in?

  8. Riot Kitty permalink
    January 2, 2012 8:50 pm

    I don’t know who does that, that’s fucking weird. Unless you’re a wolf.

    Or some kind of praying mantis woman

  9. January 2, 2012 9:37 pm

    That sounds like a great New Year’s Eve to me. Your dinner sounds fantastic.
    If the known universe is going to implode on December 21st, I’m not too concerned about it. That would be a quick solution to a whole lot of problems.

    That’ll show those tree-huggin hippies. hehehe

Leave a Reply

