Skip to content

The Amazing Disappearing Reappering Contacts

January 9, 2012

When I got home after work, first thing I did was hit my PC to search the interwebs for what the heck happened to my cellphone.

Apparently this sort of thing can happen after updating.

Well, how could have I updated my cellphone whilst it was in my pocket and I was at a jobsite. So it couldn’t have been from an update.

I did some further reading. This may also be a flaw that Apple has never quite been able to pinpoint and solve, or maybe they never bothered to try.

As I tried all kinds of things short of actually punching in all of the contacts again, nothing worked.

So I resorted to punching them all in again.

After I entered in the first contact, poof, all of the others reappeared.

I’m pleased that they’re back. But I’m still peeved that something like this is even possible to happen.

Every Apple product I’ve ever had has always been victim to odd errors that don’t seem to affect any of their competition. My iPod suffered from a wonky earphone jack. Yes, the earphone jack. The oldest, simplest piece of technology on the iPod. My iPod Touch suffered from an irreparable earphone jack. So, as the iPod’s increase in sophistication, Apple’s ability to deliver technology older than me somehow got worse.

Yes, I’m aware it’s silly of me to have no faith in Apple yet get another Apple product. It’s a company product. My boss’ choice. Not mine. I would have been happy with an LG POS cellphone for my company cellphone.

Now, on the newest iPhone, the contacts play hide and seek on me. Storing information is not new technology. Maybe it’s being stored on some sort of solid state memory device, which is relatively new, but why only the contacts. Why not other pieces of data?

Apple spends too much time on style. The product is snazzy and neat and stylish. However, it fails to do those simple things that every phone prior has been able to do effortlessly.

Remember those Mac vs. PC commercials.

“Hi, I’m an iPhone. I can tell Siri to do things for me. And I can play all kinds of apps and I can do FaceTime. I have a super fancy überpixel camera to take photos that look better than real life. My abilities are limitless.”

“Hi, I’m that crappy Nokia phone your phone company gave you for free. I can store phone numbers that correspond to the names of the people who answer those phone numbers.”

“But Nokia, you don’t have a touch screen. You don’t have an mp3 player. You don’t have wi-fi.”

“Nor do I have an internal combustion engine. But that’s okay. I’m a cellphone. I make phone calls. Can you? Go ahead, call your mother.”

“That’s easy. Look, no hands. Siri, call mom.”

“I’m sorry. I don’t know who that is, or who you are.”

“Oh, that’s too bad iPhone. Don’t worry. I remember your mother’s phone number. I have it stored right here in my contacts, under WHORE!”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 9:14 am

    Best iPhone commercial EVER. Brilliant!

    Thank you.

  2. January 9, 2012 10:09 am

    Good to hear you got them back. When I text you later this week, I want to make sure you know it is me.

    If the contacts disappear, it will just show up under your number.

  3. January 9, 2012 12:18 pm

    That’s funny.

    I have an OLD Nokia. It remembers phone numbers. It can send texts. It has monophonic ring tones. I can play Snakes on it. It has a battery life of around 10 days.

    I love it.

    I loved that phone. Snakes is awesome.

  4. January 9, 2012 3:19 pm

    I liked Apple products before Apple products were cool. Now that they are the MUST have for everyone, I don’t want one. I feel they can’t live up to the hype.

    I thought Apple products were always cool, just never worth the price.

  5. January 9, 2012 8:47 pm

    You have bad luck with Apple. I have never had a problem with any of the numerous Apple products that I have owned, save the 4th Gen iPod I washed in the washing machine.

    Did you wrong an Apple Genius at some point in your life?

    An Apple Genius wronged me!

  6. January 9, 2012 11:23 pm

    Oh my gosh, I about fell out of my chair! LOLOL

    Glad you have your contacts back! :D

    I’m glad you find humour in my pain

    • January 11, 2012 2:35 am

      Oh I never laugh at pain. What had me in stitches was your iPhone vs Nokia commercial. Brilliant! I think Nokia should hire you. :D

  7. Riot Kitty permalink
    January 9, 2012 11:26 pm

    I sent your previous post as a warning to my brother, who is gagging for an iphone 4s.

    Tell him it sucks

Leave a Reply

