Skip to content

Adventures in East Gwillimbury

January 15, 2012

Because you don’t know, I’m going to tell you. East Gwillimbury is this town north of Toronto. It’s one of those towns where the freeway just stops.

Last week I had been doing some work up there. That’s actually where I found that McDonald’s that heavily pushed the fancified coffees on me.

In this town, I found a location of Buffalo Wild Wings. That’s a sports bar I’ve been meaning to try for quite some time. I’m kind of a fan of chicken wings and I like to try all the various wing chains. Buffalo Wild Wings is an American chain that has moved into Canada with a few locations. This one up in East Gwillimbury is the closest one to my house.

I made plans with Bob to try this place Saturday night. Along the way up there, I picked up Juice and Juicette too.

So, around 8pm, we get there and find a huge parking lot full of cars. We go in the place. IT’S HUGE! But it’s also an hour wait for a table.

Okay, it’s Saturday night. There’s a hockey game on. There’s a football playoff game on. And turns out, there was also a UFC event on that night.

We tried another restaurant. Even more packed. So we try another restaurant, not even worth getting out of the car.

Screw East Gwillimbury. We drove back to Richmond Hill to go to the wing place across the street from Juice’s place. Ghost town. It was a ghost town.

And with all the big sporting events on the televisions, what does Bob say to the waitress? “Can you change the channels on one TV so we can watch the basketball game?”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2012 8:48 am

    the football game wasn’t close when I asked for the tvs to be changed.

  2. January 15, 2012 9:07 am

    i like my wings, and BW3’s (“B-dubs”) is a favorite. but i refuse to go there during any sort of sporting frenzy… the hootin’ and hollerin’ is enough to melt my brain…

  3. January 15, 2012 11:04 am

    Sounds like everyone wants to hang in Gwillimbury on Saturday nights for heavy sports-viewing. Interesting. You might be interested in knowing Buffalo Wild Wings is a bit pricey too, but they did have great wings last time I was there seven or eight years ago.

  4. January 15, 2012 1:40 pm

    Is there a West Gwillimberry?

    Uh, yeah.

  5. Riot Kitty permalink
    January 15, 2012 2:22 pm

    Remind me to use the phrase “Screw East Gwillimbury” in a sentence sometimes soon. I can’t believe you really have a town with that name…but then again, in my state we have “Boring” and “Johnson City.”

    The following are real towns in Canada:
    – Moose Factory, Ontario
    – Beaverton, Ontario
    – Moose Jaw, Alberta
    – Dildo, Newfoundland

  6. January 16, 2012 3:50 am

    Who knew East Gwillimbury would be such a rockin’ hoppin’ place?

Leave a Reply

