Skip to content

Greeting Cards

January 18, 2012

I’ve been greeting card shopping lately. Well, I’ve been trying to find a good greeting card for somebody.

Here’s the problem with greeting cards these days. Well, other than none of them are anywhere near as funny as fayecass.com greeting cards. But fayecass only does Christmas cards. I need a birthday card.

The big problem is that a lot of cards have sound and lights and now even motion devices. Some of them are appropriate for the event. But because they’re so crazy and wacky, they’ve all been mangled by customers picking the cards up, not buying them and putting them back in the pockets in the store.

So that cover’s birthday cards. But the card stores also have cards for every other occasion too. With St. Valentine’s Day approaching, there are a lot of Valentine’s Day cards. There’s St. Patrick’s Day cards. (Still don’t agree that St. Patrick’s Day is a greeting card holiday.) There’s anniversary cards and get well soon cards and sympathy cards and congratulations cards.

My favourites are the troubled relationship cards. “I feel twice as sorry as you feel hurt.” Yeah, I just cheated on my wife with a transvestite little person. Only a greeting card can fix my marriage now. Those cards kind of make me want to screw somebody just so I can give that person a greeting card to see if the card will actually fix the situation.

In the end, I opted to not get a greeting card. The birthday boy would probably rather just have the two bucks the card cost me. Happy birthday! Here’s a twonie!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 8:37 am

    Haven’t seen cards like that over here – YET!

    My pet hate is cards to wives, etc that seem to be written by people who have never had a long term relationship.

    The only reason to give your wife a card is to make up for when you cheat on her. All other cards just seem impersonal.

  2. January 18, 2012 8:44 am

    I wondered if funny cards were going to go the way of the dodo just because of e-cards and how easy it is to incorporate so much to one of those. Motion, sounds, moving graphics which aren’t yet possible with physical cards. It’s easy and free to send them, too.

    Nice to know you’re still doing it the old fashioned way, and showing the person you cared enough to invest time in finding just the right card. Or giving them the twonie when you can’t.

    It was also an excuse to take a walk. The weather was warm enough for a walk outside but too rainy. So I walked around the mall instead. The mall I went to had two greeting card stores and a department store with a greeting card section. I had lots to choose from. Nothing quite right though.

  3. January 18, 2012 9:27 am

    I think you should either create a card or you should go to Dollarama. That is where I go for my greeting cards. They have no gimmick (music, etc.) cards and some are funny.

    I do like some of the gimmicks. I just want them not to be dog-eared when I need to buy one.

  4. January 23, 2012 2:43 am

    It’s been a while since I’ve looked at paper cards so I’m kind of glad they’re still around.

    And you’re a good friend to make such an effort for your friends. :)

    they’re more than jsut paper, they got lights and motion devices now too

Leave a Reply

