Skip to content

Children and Bigotry

February 6, 2012

I spent all weekend with little children it seemed.

I spent most of Saturday with Carmine.

Saturday night, dinner at my parents and some extended family. My cousin had a baby girl a year or so ago. So this baby girl was at the house too.

My mother grabbed a bunch of stuffed animals and plush toys and filled a laundry basket with the toys. My mother pushed the basket towards the little girl and her eyes widened. She systemically took every toy out of the basket and threw them on the floor to either side of her. Once the basket was empty, she sat in the basket.

Why is it when you give a child a box of toys, the first thing they play with is the box?

Sunday I attended a birthday party for a three year old boy.

The house was filled with Italian people. Is it racist to say that I can only take Italians in small, infrequent doses?

So this little boy whose birthday it was. He had no interest in playing with the boxes. He wanted the toys inside. He got a Thomas the Tank Engine toy. It was in a box. Once the present was half unwrapped he shouted “THOMAS! THOMAS! GIMME THOMAS!”

You know that old white money belief of children should be seen and not heard? Ah, simpler times.

I’m getting a headache now just thinking about the shouting and screaming produced solely by two three year olds at this one party.

And speaking of racism and Italians, here are some gems from Carmine this weekend.

“I don’t wanna dance with that woman ’cause she’s a black.”

“I don’t like the gays. I look like ’em, I dress like ’em, but I don’t like ’em.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 10:19 am

    The world would be just a little off somehow without Carmine, I think. I love the stories. They crack me up.

  2. Riot Kitty permalink
    February 6, 2012 8:29 pm

    I would have gone for the stuffed animals, not the box.

  3. February 6, 2012 10:10 pm

    i would like to see Carmine at the 3 year-old’s birthday party…

  4. February 7, 2012 6:44 am

    Ah, the joy of children’s parties. It is all different when the kids are your own, of course.

    When the kids are your own, you have to foot the bill and clean up afterwards. When it’s not your kid, you can leave.

    Carmine dresses like the gay guys?

    Carmine walks into clothing stores, points to the Dolce & Gabbana or Versace mannequin and says “You got that in my size?”

  5. February 7, 2012 11:12 pm

    It’s amazing how loud children can get, isn’t it? I’m still amazed and I’m a mom.

    How can something so small generate so much loud noise?

Leave a Reply

