Skip to content

Fat Elvis

February 8, 2012

Last night, I was in the mood for some barbecue. Some ribs.

This little place opened up close to my home called Big Bone BBQ & Wicked Wings. Their logo is a picture of an anthropomorphic pig that looks eerily like Elvis, Elvis in his later years.

I popped in there last night and got some take-out. I ordered a combo that had a half rack of ribs, a pound of chicken wings, some fries, some cornbread, some coleslaw and some beans.

Okay, the slaw and beans immediately found their way into the garbage when I got home. I don’t eat that shit.

I tried the ribs first. Pre-cut and smothered in barbecue sauce. The meat did not peel nicely from the bone. Otherwise, they were big and juicy and oh so tasty. Very very good.

The wings, although the restaurant offers a wide variety of sauces and spices for the fried chicken wings; I opted for something I had not seen before, smoked wings. Those wings, because they’re smoked, are only offered in one flavour, the barbecue sauce. These wings were not breaded, only smoked and sauced. For the wings alone, I am definitely going back to this place.

The fries were pretty good too. Certainly better than the fries at either of the chicken wing places I usually frequent. Not shoe-string, not steak-cut, just the usual thick french fry but with a slight battering of seasoning.

The cornbread was sweet and very cakey. Calling it bread is a bit of a misnomer. It should be called corncake. It is also very good. It is a great compliment afterwards to the barbecue sauce.

So, that’s Big Bone BBQ & Wicked Wings.

You get that Bob, Big Bone BBQ & Wicked Wings. I’ll see ya there.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 8:39 am

    That, my friend, is the pinnacle of barbecue restaurants. Not only did you get great tasting food and sauce, but you got authentic barbecue. The reason most rib places have their meat fall off the bone is because they’ve pre-steamed or boiled the rack before barbecuing. Barbecuing the ribs will NOT make the meat fall off the bone like that. That’s a sign of another cooking method being used first.

    This, though, this is the absolute holy grail of barbecue ribs. And smoked AND fried wings?! Oh, man! I gotta get me one o’ these places PRONTO!

    I’m starving now! Great review!

    The meat falling off the bone is a nice touch for me because it allows to me to more easily eat more meat.

  2. February 8, 2012 8:45 am

    Ive been looking for a yummy wing place. Ive had those smoked wings – they have them at St. louis bar and grill (maybe thats what its called)…and they’re dry, not saucy.

    As a non pork/beef eater, I find that I dont like things that are smoked. ANYTHING thats smoked. My parents have a smoker in their back yard, and I refuse to eat anything off of it. Why you ask? Everything ends up tasting the way bacon smells – and I find it quite gaggy. So smoked wings I could do without.

    I guess you won’t like their potato and bacon soup either.

    • February 8, 2012 8:57 am

      Correct. I also am not a fan of potatos. Have we seriously never had this conversation before??? I’m going to blog about it this week.

  3. February 8, 2012 9:47 am

    After we try this place, we have to go to Dick’s another day.

    What’s this fascination you have with dick? Oh wait, yeah, you like dick. I forgot.

  4. February 8, 2012 10:14 am

    If I’m ever in Toronto again, I’m going there to see how it compares to TX bbq.

    and when I got to Texas, I’m coming home twice as heavy. God, how do you live there and not eat yourself to death?

  5. February 8, 2012 1:53 pm

    You are making me hungry.

    eat

  6. February 8, 2012 8:06 pm

    Okay, a picture of this Fat Elvis pig is needed… Does he have Elvis hair and a white Elvis jumpsuit?

    Big Bone BBQ & Wicked Wings

    • February 10, 2012 9:55 pm

      Totally not what I was picturing in my head. I was picturing the whole pig on all fours in a white Elvis jumpsuit.

      Still enjoyable though.

      yeah, that would be cuter/funnier

  7. February 10, 2012 5:19 am

    Mm, sounds good to me. I could really go for some of that.

    they got bbq joints in the uk?

  8. February 12, 2012 11:18 pm

    Mm, that sounds so delicious!

    Hey, you can take me there for dinner when I come to visit you! :)

Leave a Reply

