Skip to content

I got blisters on my fingers!

February 10, 2012

In my city, there’s this amusement park. It’s a wonderland of excitement and joy and merriment.

Okay, it’s not. But what can you really expect from an amusement park in Canada? The park can only be open half a year at the most. Roller coasters aren’t much fun when it’s -13 and snowing.

I drive by this park quite a bit.

Throughout the winter months, I’ve been able to see work being done on next season’s new roller coaster. Every couple of weeks, a new hill of coaster track appears.

When I saw the first constructed hill I thought “Dang, that’s gonna be one big ass roller coaster. That hill is huge!”

Then the next hill went up. It was bigger than the last hill. Then another hill went up. Again, bigger than the last.

Roller coasters are generally constructed with the first hill being the highest and steepest. Each time I saw a new hill being added, I thought that new hill would be the first hill on the ride. Each time I was wrong. Until this past week. The first big steep hill went up.

This first hill, it’s a big hill. It’s high up above all the other roller coasters in the park. The slope of the ascent is probably just as steep as the descent on the other rides. The descent on this hill. It’s almost a straight drop.

The summer of 2010 was the last time I went to this park. It was also the first time I’d been to the park in nearly a decade. I didn’t have a good time. I didn’t like the rides that I had enjoyed so much as a child. But for the first time since I was 14 years old, I’m excited about going to this amusement park.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2012 7:22 am

    love roller coasters! the one at Cedar Point is 310′ tall. The first hill drops at an 80 degree angle… sides of the coaster car are open, so you really feel like you’re falling, face first. and yes, i ride it in the front seat!

    I thought the back was the most exciting spot on the train.

  2. February 10, 2012 7:48 am

    I haven’t riden one of those things since I was around 17! I hate them.

    The one I went on was old – made of wood, and everything moved when the cars went past. I was convinced that it was all going to fall apart. I was terrified, but not by the speed or slopes – it was quite slow and the steepest slope can only have been 45 degrees!

    A few years ago the park closed and then someone set fire to the roller coaster. Good, I thought. But what next? It was decided that the ruins were of historical value, so the thing should be rebuilt! So no new, safe, modern ride, just a remake of the old utterly terrifying for all the wrong reasons ride.

    Those rickety old wood coasters are the best.

  3. February 10, 2012 9:17 am

    I never go to the park anymore, but Bobette really wanted to go last summer. We never made it. I have to take her this summer. You can go on the scary rollercoasters with her.

    man up dude

  4. February 10, 2012 9:29 am

    We have a six flags down here in Fort Worth, and I’ve yet to go there sadly. I miss roller coasters.

    in a few years, you’ll be there once a month with the youngin’

  5. Riot Kitty permalink
    February 10, 2012 6:49 pm

    I love roller coasters. I have never been to an amusement park in Canada.

    Oh, I think you’d like Canadian amusement park rides. They all have names like “The Beaver Barrel Roll” and “The Mighty Moose” and “The Polar Bear Express” and “The Great Canadian Mind Buster” and “Le Poutine Plunge” and “The Hoser Coaster” and “Mountie Mountain”

  6. February 11, 2012 8:12 am

    I’m with Bob. The only reason to take me along to an amusement park is to hold your stuff while you go on the rides.

    Who invited you?

    But if you’d like to come with me, you are always welcome. It may be nice to have somebody hold my monkeys so they don’t fall out of my pocket while on the ride.

  7. February 11, 2012 9:19 am

    I haven’t been to the amusements park of which you speak since I was 18. I don’t know if I could hold a roller coaster anymore. Last time I went to the Ex, the Tilt-A-Whirl was too much for me.

    So are you anticipated the blisters on your fingers then???

    As you avoid all music that predates 1990, let me explain the reference in the title for you.
    You see, in the 1960s, their was the popular rock and roll combo called the Beatles. One of their songs is about a roller coaster. The final words shouted in that song about the roller coaster is the phrase “I’ve got blisters on my fingers.” I am trying to be witty with my post title by using what’s probably the most recognizable line from the song as the title of this post instead of just borrowing the song’s title.

  8. February 13, 2012 12:31 am

    What? No references to Love Rollercoaster by the Ohio Players?! I think the urban legend that went with this one kept the song alive much longer than it otherwise would have lasted. Certainly it’s all we seemed to talk about for months in 5th grade, and made us call the radio stations to request it.

    The rollercoaster sounds awesome! You’ll take some pics when you go, right?

Leave a Reply

