Skip to content

Burger

February 21, 2012

Usually when I go to that Big Bone BBQ & Wicked Wings near my house, I get the food to go. Take out as it’s called. Last night, I dined in.

The place is small, only ten or so small tables. Not a lot of people can fit in the place at one time. Matters not to me. The food is good, the service is good, the value for my dollar is good. I’ve got no complaints.

I keep going back, they must be doing something right.

So last night, I dined in there.

I asked the waitress what toppings come on the Fantasy Burger. It’s advertised as a burger with bacon, cheese and pulled pork.

“We can put whatever you’d like on the burger, lettuce, tomato, relish. But honestly, it just gets in the way. I think it’s best just beef, bacon, pork and cheese.”

So that’s how I had it.

This was a good hamburger. A decent sized patty of properly cooked beef. It wasn’t to sloppy, it wasn’t dry. It was just right. The cheese was not overpowering. It was there to hold things together, that’s all. Yes it had both bacon and pulled pork, but there wasn’t a lot of bacon. The bacon was there more for crunch than anything else. And the pulled pork. No surprises there. This is some good pulled pork. And the pork had the barbecue sauce that I like on it.

It’s called the Fantasy Burger. To me, it’s just a fantastic burger.

It’s not cheap. It’s a ten dollar meal. But it’s ten dollars worth of food. It comes with some veggies on the side: coleslaw, beans and fries.

It’s not your everyday burger. That’s Wendy’s Junior Bacon Cheeseburger. (Best two dollar burger.) The Fantasy Burger is your elite burger. In a time where burgers are going either super-gourmet or super-simple, this one hits right down the middle and hits where it matters most. It tastes good.

If I have to say something negative about this burger, it’s the bun. I’ve never understood sesame seeds. I prefer a seedless bun.

In the past year or so, there’s been a ground-swell of support and adulation for Five Guys Burgers & Fries. Five Guys is one of those super-simple burgers. Just a big burger that’s supposed to be done just right. Well, for me, it wasn’t done right. And taste-wise, it was nothing to write home about. People have also told me about the Hero Burger. That’s supposed to be another great burger joint that does the super-simple burger really well. I’ve had the Hero a few times now. It’s okay, but again, it’s nothing special and nothing to warrant making the effort to pass up on Wendy’s and go there instead. Five Guys, Hero, even South Street Burger; none of them are anything above and beyond the classic Canadian burger joint, Harvey’s. Lots of burger competition out there. Lots of people swearing by their burger. Lots of people confusing me. These supposedly great burgers are not great.

Then there’s Big Bone BBQ & Wicked Wings. Not a burger joint. But they serve a few burgers. Might as well. And if you’re going to do it, do it right. There’s no big fancy claims on their burgers, just a fair-sized patty, cooked right with some cheese and some bacon. Nothing fancy about the Fantasy Burger. Just a burger done right. Then throw some pulled pork inside.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2012 9:02 am

    You know, this Elvis-pig place is becoming my favorite restaurant and I’ve never even eaten there. Sounds like the ideal place, and that burger sounds like royalty among burgers.

    By the way, the best cheap burger I’ve ever eaten was at In-N-Out, a chain in California. A more expensive and much larger version was at Nation’s Giant Hamburgers, which is exactly what you get, also a California chain. Here in the Midwest, we have nothing even remotely close to either of those, so I’ve been great-burger deprived for many, many years now.

    Your review gives me hope for good burgers everywhere. Thanks.

    The way people speak of Five Guys and Hero is the same way people who’ve been speak of In-N-Out. Kind of has me worried about the In-N-Out not being so special if I ever get down to the southwest and try one.

  2. February 21, 2012 9:10 am

    Damn it… I was thinking about going to Big Bone tonight but my Parents really want me to eat at their place. It is going to be a tough decision.

    Today’s Pancake Day. Eat pancakes today.

  3. February 21, 2012 11:33 am

    Bought burgers over here just seem to disappoint – I prefer to make my own – simple works best, of course!

    Hm, now I want a burger, but I couldn’t eat one as I just ate 2 cream cakes.

    who has time to make burgers anymore?
    Okay, I do.
    I don’t have time to clean up afterwards though.

  4. February 21, 2012 7:06 pm

    pulled pork AND bacon on a burger? oh, my…[swoons, falls across footstool and breaks thigh bone…]

    yes, oh yes, pulled pork AND bacon on a burger. The restaurant requires a doctors note before ordering the burger though.

  5. February 21, 2012 10:18 pm

    I enjoy your food blogging. Oh – I def have to try Southern Accent some time (yay bourbon!) and Highway 61’s just around the corner and I’ve never been there. Let me know if you ever get to Harlem… I must go there one day myself.

    Southern Accent has this thing called a bourbon tasting. You pick any four bourbons on their bourbon menu for one low price.

  6. February 26, 2012 11:24 pm

    Mmm, pulled pork and bacon on a burger? Now that’s some fine burger thinking! It sounds divine. :)

    oh it is

Leave a Reply

