Skip to content

Pancake Tuesday

February 22, 2012

You know yesterday was Pancake Tuesday, right?

I’m sure you did. You all enjoyed a pancake or two, didn’t you?

I had a couple of pancakes. Not great pancakes. Aunt Jemima instant pancakes. Just add water. I couldn’t be bothered to make real pancakes.

So now it’s Lent. The time of the year when good people give up fun stuff.

I’m not good people. I intend to continue eating pancakes until Easter. And yes, I had a slice of cherry pie today for breakfast. Leftovers from Cherry Pie Day.

Oh, you didn’t know. Monday was Cherry Pie Day.

Being Lent, good people eat no meat, only fish, apparently. A friend of mine sent me a text last night “You ever heard of Seafood Depot?”

I don’t know fish places. I don’t eat fish. So I checked it out online. Turns out I do know the place. My dad buys fish there sometimes. I told my friend “Yeah yeah, that place. My dad goes there. Fish is probably pretty good there. My dad won’t buy crap, right?”

“Do you know where it is?” Yup, my friend has never heard of Google. I imagine Yahoo or Bing would work just as well too.

I tell my friend where the place is. Not that was any help. You see, this friend of mine gets lost pretty easily. This friend lives in Toronto. One night, we were gonna meet for drinks. I suggested meeting at Yonge and Eglinton. Everybody knows that part of Toronto. Well, not my friend. My friend does not know what lies beyond a one kilometer radius from my friend’s home. So, this one time, I met my friend for dinner. Gave my friend a road map. No more excuses for not finding places.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 9:11 am

    I knew it was pancake tuesday, I got free pancakes at work! Funny thing, i attempted to make pancakes for the 1st time on the weekend. All I had to do was add water and cook in frying pan… I am not sure if I did it right.

    only you can screw up instant pancake mix

  2. February 22, 2012 9:45 am

    Interesting. I thought it was called “Fat Tuesday,” hence “Mardi Gras.” Maybe the pancake thing is Canadian? Hm.

    Pancake Tuesday or Shrove Tuesday is an old Catholic thing. Start Lent by getting rid of leftover flour and butter and stuff and make pancakes.

  3. Riot Kitty permalink
    February 22, 2012 3:17 pm

    Nom! I want some pancakes now. And I don’t believe in giving up fun stuff, which believe me, was at odds of being raised Lutheran. As a former (Catholic) boss pointed out, it’s like being Catholic in denial.

    most Christian sects are pretty much the same, life is Hell.

  4. February 22, 2012 7:52 pm

    I had pancakes yesterday, but only because my coworker brought in the mix, I had no idea it was actually Pancake Tuesday. Oh well, they were yummy!

    good to hear

  5. February 22, 2012 8:12 pm

    i’m pretty sure this is Margarita Day…. which would go nicely with a pancake or three…

    never heard of Margarita Day

  6. February 22, 2012 8:48 pm

    Yeah, I also heard that it was Fat Tuesday. So I ate some fat.

    where do you think the fat is cooked into? the pancakes of course

  7. February 25, 2012 6:31 pm

    I had Finnish pancakes for Ash Wednesday dinner. I’m always a day late…

    Never had them, but I’ve heard those are good. Finnish food is hard to find. Even though Toronto has the largest population of Finnish people outside of Scandanavia.

  8. February 27, 2012 12:05 am

    I’ve never heard of Pancake Tuesday. Matter of fact, I didn’t even know what Lent was until I moved to the Midwest. I grew up So Baptist and went to an EV Free school, and really the only thing were knew we were supposed to deny ourselves was the eeeeeeeevil alcohol. Nothing food-wise though. Oh no, ALL food was good, on any and every day. :)

    Every Christian sect denies the people from something. But in Catholicism, right before the denial, is the gorging.

Leave a Reply

