Skip to content

Weekend Recap: Bed, Pizza, Bed, Pizza, Bed, Pizza, TOAST!

March 5, 2012

Friday night wasn’t too eventful. I watched some Food Network programming and went to bed at a reasonable time. Sure, I didn’t get any sleep that night with the wind and the things the wind caused and the ensuing events as chronicled in the previous post.

Saturday I worked a half day. When I got home around 1pm, I had a bite to eat then took a nap. It was a nice nap. I woke up around 5:30.

Dinner on Saturday night was pizza at Dante’s. Yummy yummy Dante’s. Not only is it really yummy pizza, it’s incredibly ample portions of yummy pizza. I took a lot of left over pizza home.

To later eat said left over pizza, I put a slice or two on a small baking sheet and slid it into the toaster oven. With my wonderful Krups FBC1 toaster oven, two slices of Dante’s heat up perfectly when toasting at 9 on the browning scale. The underlying crust gets really crispy and the bacon sizzles.

Unfortunately, I think my toaster oven is on it’s last legs. The crust was still a bit limp and the bacon didn’t sizzle. I think my toaster oven needs to be retired.

Sunday morning, after having a less than ideal left over pizza breakfast, I took a drive down to the mall to research toaster ovens. Home Outfitters has a big selection but they’re mostly crappy quality toaster ovens. DeLonghi, Hamilton Beach, crap! I wouldn’t toast shit in those. Williams Sonoma only has one model, a Breville compact oven. Crate & Barrel doesn’t offer anything I can’t find anywhere else. The Bay has the same stuff as Home Outfitters. I didn’t bother to check Sears.

The one good thing I did notice is that Home Outfitters is clearing out the Krups FBC4 toaster oven. They’ve got it at 150 bucks. The FBC4 is an upgrade to my FBC1. Years ago when I bought the FBC1 for well over 200 bucks, the FBC4 was another 100 bucks on top of the FBC1. My old Krups has served me well these past four or five years. I may just swing by the Home Outfitters today at lunch and pick that up. Sure, it’s an old model, but it’s a quality toaster oven at a great price.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 10:14 am

    I want pizza now. Maybe next weekend.

  2. March 5, 2012 1:37 pm

    Very cool. I’ve wanted a toaster oven for years, but can’t convince my wife it’s a solid investment. Too many stories about how it’s not good for toast and not good for an oven, so it’s pretty much useless. I can’t say, ’cause I’ve never used one myself, but this Krups sounds nice.

    I’ll help you out.

  3. March 5, 2012 11:04 pm

    Sounds like a win in the toaster oven department!

    You can never lose with toast.

  4. Riot Kitty permalink
    March 6, 2012 12:55 am

    Krups stands behind their products – my aunt called them about a friend coffeemaker and they sent her a new one. Worth a shot. Don’t ask me how I remember this.

    Now I want pizza. Ample pizza.

    Krups are fine German products. Ya. Das ist good.

  5. March 6, 2012 3:08 am

    We don’t have a Home Outfitters down here. I’m not even sure what would be comparable – Bed, Bath, and Beyond, maybe.

    Perhaps your toaster oven just needs to be cleaned? That might make a difference.

    BBB is the same as HO.
    And toasters only last so long. The heating rods only last so long.

Leave a Reply

