Skip to content

Weekend Recap: Highs and Lows

March 12, 2012

For years I’ve heard the legend of kosher Coca-Cola.

It only comes out once a year, for Passover. Coca-Cola is made with gluctose-fructose which is basically corn syrup. The Jews avoid corn. Apparently corn is not kosher. Therefore, Jews who maintain a kosher diet avoid Coca-Cola. But for Passover, Coca-Cola runs a batch using sugar instead of corn syrup.

The legend states that the cola tastes better with real sugar instead of the cheaper corn syrup. The legend also states that Coca-Cola tried to find a way to use real sugar while keeping costs down to the level of the corn syrup but they were unable. The better tasting version is just too expensive to brew all year round.

With Passover approaching, I saw a display at the grocery store of “Passover Coca-Cola.” I compared the 2 litre bottle of kosher coke with a regular bottle. The main ingredient in the kosher being sugar while the regular contains sugar/gluctose-fructose. I had to try this better tasting coke.

I carefully unscrewed the cap on the bottle and poured with care a large portion of the beverage into a fine clean glass. I lifted the glass up to my face and sipped of the nectar.

It tasted different and it tasted worse. It was disappointing.

A few weeks ago I tried to get reservations to this restaurant downtown called Harlem Underground. Instead of calling in the afternoon on the day of, I called a few days ahead.

Like many downtown restaurants, it’s a small, dark little restaurant. The darkness actually had me a bit worried. What are they trying to hide?

I’ll tell you what they’re hiding. Good food!

For an appetizer, I had the jerk chicken quesadilla. The chicken was ground like you’d find in a Jamaican patty. The tortilla was different too. It tasted almost like a crepe or a pancake. There was this sweet sauce drizzled on top like syrup. The taste of this thing was like having jerk chicken in a pancake.

My dinner was the southern fried chicken and waffles. Two legs and a breast with a thin, crispy coating and three waffles. Two sauces for dipping, the spicy honey sauce that was drizzled on the quesadillas and a sweet gravy.

I was not dining alone, so I got to partake in some of the other ordered goodies. The stewed chicken was not a stew. It was half a chicken that had been stewed in Guinness and other things. It was pretty good too. The mac ‘n cheese was simple but done just right.

So, um, yeah, uh. I’m going back there. Who’s joining me?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2012 10:01 am

    I would like to go back but I also want to check out other restaurants I haven’t gone to yet (like Big Bone).

    what’s stopping you?

  2. March 12, 2012 11:18 am

    I’d go if I could. Sounds awesome. Creative use of breakfast foods like waffles with dinner items like jerk chicken? Oh yeah. I’m there.

    I always thought the sugar-based Coke was better, and the “Throwback Pepsi” is too.

    we just can’t say no to good food, can we?

  3. March 12, 2012 5:32 pm

    That was the best vicarious meal I’ve imagineaten in weeks!

    I’m glad I could help, I guess.

  4. March 12, 2012 11:09 pm

    there’s an upscale/organic dive in town that doesn’t sell anything with artificial sweetners, or fructose-based stuff. so they get their Coca-cola from mexico, which apparently sells the non-fructose stuff. Whatever. i like my slenda and aspartame….

    Yeah, because I would trust Mexicoke.

  5. March 13, 2012 12:26 am

    Really? You didn’t like the old formula Coke? Well, I guess since that’s how they made it before you were born, it’s probably not as good to you. For those of us who remember pop before they started using that abomination HFCS, the throwback versions are like going back to childhood. :)

    Of course, we don’t drink pop anymore anyway but it’s nice to know that Coke does the real sugar thing too.

    The restaurant sounds pretty good! When are you going to take pictures of all this delicious food with your snazzy smartphone so we can see the goodness?

    Then I have to upload the photos and have you seen the cost of data in Canada? It’s outrageous!

  6. Riot Kitty permalink
    March 13, 2012 1:44 am

    Corn isn’t kosher? Seriously?

    apparently

Leave a Reply

