Skip to content

Putting the ‘Fun’ in ‘Funeral’

March 22, 2012

Is is right to make light, find humour in something involving an older person passing away? I mean no disrespect to the deceased. It’s just that something kind of funny happened to me at the funeral home.

An elderly Italian lady from the old neighbourhood passed away.

I took my mother to the funeral home. The place was packed. Inside the funeral home, there is always that sign which tells visitors which person is being shown in which room. I found the sign and on the sign, found the name of the person is was there for.

“Hmm… the Spruce Room. Gotcha.” I turned around and saw a room labeled Spruce Room A. “Mom, this should be the place.”

We enter the room and take a look around. My mother asked me “Do you recognize anybody in here?”

“Nope.”

I went back to check the sign, make sure I read it right. My mother went to talk to somebody working at the funeral home.

Turns out, we had the date wrong. Oh well.

We left the funeral home and walked back to the car.

“So Mom, what was the first tell-tale sign that we were in the wrong place or at the wrong time?”

My mother, looking for a politically correct phrasing paused before saying “The variety of skin colours of the various mourners in the room.”

“Oh, that was what first tipped you off? For me it was the line of black people wearing identical t-shirts printed with a black woman’s face on the shirt. I’m assuming the woman whose face was printed on the shirts is the woman who is being shown in the room today.”

I went to the funeral home expecting to see a room full of old Italian people and I found a room full of young black people. I’m glad it wasn’t one of those situations where I walk in the room and everybody stops, turns and looks at me with that “Who is this guy?” look. That would be awkward.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2012 9:20 am

    Ha! Sounds like an episode of Seinfeld. Good times…good times.

    Soup Nazi was on this morning. Funny funny funny.

  2. March 22, 2012 10:40 am

    Sort of like “Harold and Maude”… i’ve often considered becoming a “funeral crasher”. although the food at weddings is generally better…

    Best food is actually at bridal showers. Nothing but cookies and booze.

  3. March 22, 2012 4:21 pm

    What’s up with this viewing stuff? I don’t get wanting to see a dead person. I won’t even walk by the casket at a funeral. My daughter’s studying to be a mortician and I’m sure I will have to look at examples of her restorations sometime in the near future. I nearly swoon every time I think about it.

    nobody wants, it’s a sign of respect to the family of the deceased

  4. Riot Kitty permalink
    March 23, 2012 1:50 am

    Sorry, that does sound like a sitcom. I’d be laughing too.

    or maybe something from a naked gun movie, well, if I interupted the showing and started going through the deceased’s pockets it would be from naked gun

  5. March 23, 2012 2:00 am

    Reminds me of a line from that song, “I’m the kinda guy who laughs at a funeral, don’t understand what I mean, well you soon will.” BareNakedLadies, I think. Might be One Week.

    My condolences to your mother’s friend and the lady’s family.

    you come here to quote BNL??? can’t find anything better? it’s not like you were quoting old apartment or brian wilson. nah, you had to quote one week???

    • March 23, 2012 3:27 pm

      Oh be nice to me. It’s not like I’ve listened to anything new in the last 10 years, except for a Daughtry CD!

      Not winning points with this daughtry nonsense

Leave a Reply

