Skip to content

Weekend Recap: Hungry Games

March 26, 2012

Friday

I went out for dinner someplace different. I went for Lebanese food. Yes. Lebanese food. That’s Middle Eastern. Doesn’t sound like me at all, does it?

I ordered the least out-there thing I could determine. A shawarma plate. Basically, barbecued chicken and beef on a pita, instead of wrapped in a pita with various other weird things.

Kinda dry, but otherwise good.

Saturday

Back to the good ol’ Big Bone BBQ & Wicked Wings for dinner. I ordered some different stuff. I finally tried the cheesy cheesy garlic bread. (The two ‘cheesy’ is deliberate. Well, that’s how it’s written on the menu. It’s pretty simple. Just the long bun used on the pulled pork sandwich or brisket sandwich. It’s spread with some garlic butter than cheesed. Then it’s toasted. Nothing fancy but it tastes pretty good.

Also had the potato skins. There’s some pulled pork in the potato skins. Oh baby.

Had the bbq chicken sandwich. It’s a grilled thick mammajamma chicken breast smothered in some barbecue sauce in the sesame seed hamburger bun.

Barbecue sauce is a real hit or miss thing. Over at the Big Bone BBQ & Wicked Wings, their signature sauce is a hit with me. A big friggin’ hit. Had the pulled pork sandwich there on Thursday, then Friday, then went back for a bunch of over stuff on Saturday.

Sunday

I drove out to Bolton for lunch. Caruso Gourmet Pizza. This place makes some good pizza.

For dinner, I was feeling a little bit tex-mex. I made myself some chicken fajitas. Grilled up some chicken I had marinating. Threw in some sliced and diced peppers. Mmm mmm good.

Those were the escapades of my belly this weekend. How was your’s?

Now, as for this weekend’s big deal, the movie Hunger Games. I haven’t read the book so I can really only go by what I’ve seen about the movie.

It’s Running Man for the Twilight crowd.

Yeah, I’ll pass.

I watched a different movie instead. I saw Sherlock Holmes: a Game of Shadows. I haven’t read any of the Sherlock Holmes books either.

Why would I read the book? Why would I read any book? Look at it this way. All of the books being made into movies are being made into bad movies. It’s conceivable that the original source materials (the books) suck too.

As for this movie I did see. It sucked. The story short by really fast, there wasn’t much story anyway. The action sequences were shown in slow-motion so as to highlight the 3D technology. Wow! A movie designed to be seen to people wearing special glasses. Next time, make a movie that doesn’t require me to wear glasses.

Okay, I watched the 2D version of the film because I don’t want to wear an extra pair of glasses. But I could tell where 3D stuff was supposed to be flying at me.

Oh, and since when could Sherlock Holmes see into the future? Alvin & the Chipmunks Sherlock Holmes couldn’t do that. Star Trek: the Next Generation Sherlock Holmes couldn’t do that.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2012 9:31 am

    send me what you use as a marinade for your chicken….

    – Imported olive oil, like imported from some guy who moves it in the back of his van imported.
    – Club House brand Tex-Mex seasoning
    – The Keg brand Chicken and Ribs seasoning
    – Chef Vinny’s Secret Garlic Burst seasoning or something like that. Don’t remember the name exactly.

  2. March 26, 2012 10:25 am

    Wow, a sucky Sherlock Holmes movie? Say it ain’t so! /sarcasm

    Yeah, the trick for me with the first Sherlock Holmes movie from a couple years back was NOT to look at it as the classic literature figure and just enjoy a nice, fun, steampunk movie. But if this one stunk, and believe me I wasn’t enamored of the first one, I’m going to really balk at seeing it until it’s on Netflix or something free.

    I didn’t know there as an A&TC Sherlock Holmes. I’m so much better informed now. And the Hungry Games you played this weekend sound like a bunch more fun that this over-hyped movie. (Love the description too — “…The Running Man for the Twilight crowd.” Awesome!

    it sucked, avoid it

  3. March 26, 2012 11:23 am

    I tried Big Bone this weekend too! Love that fantasy burger!

    wondering if they cater, aren’t ya?

  4. March 26, 2012 5:31 pm

    I had a tasty sirloin steak at Milestones. (Well done with steamed veggies and mashed taters.)

    never liked Milestones, too “ooh-look-at-us-we’re-special” without actually being special

  5. March 26, 2012 7:20 pm

    I wish I ate as much good food as you do. I’ve just been eating crap since I’ve been back from Paris. :(

    Most books get turned into movies because they are actually good, IMHO. Well, with the exception of Twilight, that is. It got turned into a movie because it sold a lot. However, I think it’s hard to turn a great book into a great movie (Kudos to the Harry Potter movie ppl). I have the Hunger Game on my to be read list, and won’t see the movie ’til I read it first.

    Go to that Harlem place, it’s good. Ooooh, better yet. Highway 61. Go there. Get some barbecue. That’s some good eatin’!

  6. Riot Kitty permalink
    March 26, 2012 10:43 pm

    I had Indian food escapades. Which were actually very good.

    Indian food escapads? Very good? You enjoy frequent bouts of liquid bowel movements?

  7. March 27, 2012 4:25 pm

    My daughter told me I should read The Hunger Games. I told her I jumped on her brother’s Twilight bandwagon and I’m still hanging my head in shame. It isn’t that the books were sooo bad, it’s that the movies and resulting hype are.

    Most of the books I’ve read that have been turned into movies are awful. I say it’s one or the other, never both.

    Wait a sec??? There’s a guy out there somewhere reading Twilight?

  8. March 27, 2012 11:46 pm

    Sounds like your tummy went on an adventure! All sorts of new and interesting things there. :)

    I really like your description of the Hunger Games. I’ve never read it, don’t plan to, or see it either.

    The Sherlock Holmes books don’t suck. The RDJ movies don’t have much to do with the books, I can say that much. I haven’t seen other Holmes movies, but the books are awesome. :) Just in case you wanted to try out that reading thing.

    Nah. I’m gonna skip the whole reading thing. Hello! This is the 21st century. Books are outdated. They’re ancient technology. If the information can’t be downloaded directly into my brain, it ain’t worth it.

  9. March 28, 2012 9:52 pm

    i adore lebanese food — stuffed grape leaves are an acquired taste, but yummy. and if you put some of that white yogurty stuff on the chicken, it’s less dry and very tasty. you’ve managed to make me very, very hungry! and craving potato skins/pulled pork…

    I generally avoid white yogurty stuff and leaves.

Leave a Reply

