Skip to content

“I’ll buy that for a Dollar!”

April 4, 2012

I’m sure many people reading this are familiar with the television show Pawn Stars. If not, here’s a brief description. TV Cameras follow around these four guys who run a pawn shop in Las Vegas. Patrons bring in items they’d like to pawn or sell and any of the four guys determine how much the pawn shop would pay for such an item. On some items, experts are brought in to help determine value and authenticity of the items.

The success of Pawn Stars has spawned other similar programs. For example, there’s Hard Core Pawn. That show is based out of Detroit.

Last night I caught an episode of another pawn shop program called Cajun Pawn Stars. I got the feeling that this new program is produced by the same people who produced the original Pawn Stars. The show has a very similar feel and structure. The big difference being that all of the patrons sound like Foghorn Leghorn.

Here’s a description of the episode I saw last night. One patron brings in an old revolver, a Colt Dragoon. Very good condition, he sold it for a very good profit based on his initial investment of trading a $700 rifle for the old revolver. The pawn shop was happy to have the gun, the patron was very content with the amount he received for the gun. Everybody left happy.

The next patron brought in an old record. An expert was brought in to examine and listen to the record. Turns out it’s a very old, very very old Jerry Lee Lewis recording. Estimated at $15000 to $20000, the patron turned down an offer of $30000. He wasn’t going to sell it for anything under $100000. Maybe not a wise financial decision, maybe it was, who’s to say? Still, made for interesting television.

Another patron walked in with a goat on a leash. “I’d like to sell my pygmy goat.”

Excuse me??? Somebody’s trying to pawn a goat?

A living, breathing animal. A living breathing pooping animal. This goat, prior to the sale, shat all over the pawn shop floor. It tried to eat the furniture in the room.

The pawn shop bought it for 40 bucks.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 8:50 am

    There’s an actual place here that’s huge on pawning and selling animals, from farm to house trained. I’m not kidding. I’m curious why a show about this has never been produced.

  2. April 5, 2012 11:31 am

    Okay, so if someone’s willing to SELL a pygmy goat, odds are good someone else is willing to BUY a pygmy goat. I mean, not in EVERY market, but…you know, Arcadia…

  3. April 5, 2012 7:21 pm

    No way!

    yes way

  4. April 6, 2012 2:01 am

    I bet someone ate pretty good that night! LOL Goat stew, mm mm good!

    Actually, gag me, I don’t think I could eat goat. Lamb, maybe, but not goat.

    goat brain is apparently really tasty

  5. April 7, 2012 10:33 am

    Oh, I would TOTALLY buy a pygmy goat. If I were allowed to keep one in my condo. And if my husband weren’t allergic to everything with fur or feathers.

    no fur or feathers, then how does he live with you?

  6. April 9, 2012 5:17 pm

    The guy from Pawn Stars, the middle aged one, looks just like the former GM at the Harribalsac. The GM had an explosive temper and sometimes a simple, “Hi, how are you today?” would send him off in a 2 hour rant about everything that was wrong with the world in general and the restaurant in particular. I learned to judge the level of crazy in his eyes before I asked any questions.

    The first time I saw Pawn Stars and someone argued with that guy, I expected him to flip out and start throwing stuff. No lie, I ducked and covered and looked for somewhere to hide.

Leave a Reply

