Skip to content

At the Big Bone…

April 13, 2012

Last night, on my way home from work, I stopped by the nearby Big Bone BBQ for a little dinner…

I walk into the place and the cashier says to me “You’re here everyday now.”

“What’s this everyday? I haven’t been here since Friday. That’s six days ago.”

Then the cook comes around the corner. “Hi. Here for your daily pulled pork?”

“I’m not here everyday dammit. But yeah, one pulled pork sandwich to go please.”

The cook hands me a sandwich and thanks me for my business. I reply “See ya tomorrow.”

You see, I keep track of all my meals out at various commercial establishments. I’ve got this app on my phone called Urbanspoon. It allows me to find nearby restaurants based on various criteria. It also allows me to write reviews and view other’s reviews. One feature I find interesting is called Dineline. That feature allows me to track my own dining habits. Where I dine, when I dine, how much I spend, what I order and leave various little notes to myself about the dining experience.

So… Am I at Big Bone everyday? Let’s check my records… Big Bone BBQ: April 12, 5, 4, 2, March 30, 26, 24, 23, 22, February 26, 22, 20, 13 and 7. That’s not everyday to me. There’s a bunch of days in there where I didn’t go to Big Bone.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 7:05 am

    i have regular lunch spots — about six or seven places that i hit on a weekly basis. several of the servers, and counter folks, know my order before i give it…. i’m either highly predictable, or turning into an old lady.

    little from column A, little from column B

  2. April 13, 2012 7:10 am

    Yes, yes, keep telling yourself that :-)

    I will

  3. April 13, 2012 8:26 am

    Well, clearly you’re not there everyday, what’s the issue with these people? But I always like it when the staff at an establishment knows my order before I even place it. Nice. :)

    I do mix up what I get sometimes. On Friday, I had a bbq chicken sandwich and the potato skins instead.

  4. April 13, 2012 4:41 pm

    Maybe your evil twin is there when you’re not.

    but I am the evil twin

  5. April 13, 2012 10:06 pm

    That’s definitely not everyday. Damn, I could really go for a pulled pork sandwich right now. Sounds yummy.

    you know else is really good, the burger with the pulled pork as a garnish or the potato skins with pulled pork on top. Oh, it’s all good

  6. April 14, 2012 4:42 am

    Well no, that’s not every day, so you are technically correct. But you do love it so you eat there seems at least once or twice a week. That’s a pretty big endorsement.

    I’m checking out this UrbanSpoon. Wish I’d known about it when we were eating out more, lol. Still, it looks cute and would be good to have when you’re in unfamiliar territory.

    It’s useful. I’ve found it useful.

  7. April 14, 2012 1:33 pm

    They are taking your presence there “everyday” as a compliment. Let ’em enjoy it. How was the pulled pork?

    If the pulled pork was no good, would I be there “everyday?”

  8. April 14, 2012 3:17 pm

    I’ve been eating at the same place every day for weeks. I call it “my house”.

    Food sucks at my house. Have to get my food elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

