Skip to content

Weekend Recap

April 23, 2012

From everybody in Canada except BC, to the LA Kings, you’re welcome!

Friday

I went back to the Southern Rub Smokehouse and dined there. I wanted to give their food a proper opportunity. Take out is not the best way to experience new food. I ordered the pulled pork sans sandwich. Just the pulled pork. I tried it with the sweet molasses BBQ sauce. That sauce was not a good idea. It did not go well with the pork. It wasn’t very sweet. It was very vinegary. I don’t like vinegary BBQ sauces. I’m not going back to this place. It’s just not good enough for me. Big Bone is much better. If you disagree, then you suck. End of discussion.

Saturday

Still craving some good barbecue because Friday night’s meal was unsatisfactory, I went to Big Bone for lunch. A pulled pork sandwich, a couple of pig skins (potato skins with pulled pork), some garlic cheese bread and some corn bread. That was a lot of lunch, but it was a wonderful lunch. It was actually lunch and half of dinner.

In the evening, I had some friends over for game night. We played some board games and stuff.

First game we played was Tribond. I think it’s a fun game but it goes by way too quickly. It’s similar to that Pyramid game show from back in the day.

Second game we played was an Italian card game called Bang. At first, it was just confusing. Then it got very very dirty. I’m gonna bang you. Oh yeah, not if I bang you first. Look at this, I’m gonna bang everybody! Hey, if I could reach, I would totally bang you. Look, now I can bang you and the horse you rode in on. Those were all statements spoken during one playing of the game Bang.

We finished the night with a game of Trivial Pursuit: Pop Culture 2. I won.

Sunday

I had brunch at a brunch chain called Cora’s. I’ve never liked the place. Been there a couple of times and felt the food was subpar. But it was somebody’s birthday so that somebody got to pick.

The place is always packed. For the life of me, I can’t figure out why. Food there is terrible. Sunday’s brunch was no different. The place was rammed and the food was no good.

After brunch, I went to see a movie called Safe House. It stars Denzel Washington and Ryan Reynolds. It’s your typical CIA movie. The guy you think is super dirty really isn’t dirty at all but the CIA head guy is really dirty and corrupt. Predictable. I didn’t like the direction either. Too many quick cuts. Every shot was with a handheld so it gets kind of dizzying at times.

And for the ladies, just so you know, there aren’t many shots of Ryan Reynolds with his shirt off; so you can pass on this movie.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    April 23, 2012 10:50 am

    Damn dustin Hoffman!! I have never understood why Cora’s is so popular either. I don’t find the food to be subpar like you but I find that it is over-priced for what I am actually looking for in a breakfast place.

    Jimmy Buffett, financial guru.

  2. April 23, 2012 10:51 am

    Sounds like a fun weekend, overall. My heart aches a little whenever I hear about bad BBQ, though. How sad…like the tears of a clown.

    There’s a clown that cries BBQ sauce? Tell me more.

  3. April 23, 2012 1:16 pm

    Molasses sauce was not sweet? That really sucks.

    Haven’t had a games evening in far too long – thanks for the reminder – maybe at the weekend…

    it was tangy, not sweet, and it tasted kinda out of a bottle, if you know what I mean

    • April 24, 2012 5:25 am

      Out of a bottle? I thought these places made their own! Guess I watch too much Man vs Food?

      It tasted like it was out of a bottle. Just sayin

  4. April 23, 2012 7:14 pm

    You eat BBQ as much as I eat sushi. BTW your sushi comment on my blog made me LOL. :)

    I’m glad you laughed. That was my intention. Also, I’m glad you didn’t equate my comment to mean you’re some sort of sushi floosy like Edna K.

  5. Riot Kitty permalink
    April 23, 2012 11:01 pm

    Why are the shitty places always packed? It baffles me.

    Because stupid people are morons.

    Yeah, you heard me.

  6. April 25, 2012 2:25 am

    I don’t care for vinegary flavors either. Not a fan of sour. Some folks think BBQ is supposed to be tangy and sour apparently, but I prefer the sweeter style.

    You want to see a real barbecue master on TV, check out Steve Raichlen. :)

    Sounds like the weekend was fun, at least as far as being with friends, even if the food wasn’t always 100%. But then again, it’s all about the friends. :)

    Nah, I’d trade ’em all for some good barbecue.

Leave a Reply

