Skip to content

May 3, 2012

Buying cars isn’t a regular thing for me. I haven’t really done it before.

Four years ago I leased a car. It’s a nice car, not fancy at all, it’s very me.

The lease is coming up next month. I have been planning to buy out the car at the end of the lease. For many reasons: one, I’ve driven about forty thousand kilometers over the lease limit; two, there’s some superficial damage to the car like scratches, dents, the leather seating is a little bit torn in a couple of spots; three, I like this car and would like to keep it. I don’t care that it’s old and that I could get a new one. Not only would it cost too much to give it back, my car was made in Japan. New models are made in Canada. I’m not sure if I trust Canadian automobile manufacturing. The upside to getting a new car would be the new car smell. But my old car has my butt print in the driver seat. I’ll trade that new car smell for my butt print every time.

Last night I found a voicemail from somebody at the car dealership. I called him back today. This is the conversation I had with the car guy who left me the message last night.

CG: With your lease coming up, you should look into getting a new model.
Me: Before that, I’d like to know what the buy back is on the car.
CG: The new models are cheaper now.
Me: I understand, but first, please tell me what the buy back is on the car.
CG: You know, if you buy it back, you have get it certified and pass emissions. It’s better to get a new model.
Me: I understand all of that. Please tell me what the number is.
CG: If you buy it back you have to pay tax. It’s better to get a new model.
Me: Please tell me WHAT THE FUCKING NUMBER IS!
CG: Why do you swear at me?
Me: Because I’ve asked you three times and you didn’t answer me. Tell me how much I have to pay to keep the car.
CG: [click]

I called back immediately and asked to speak to a manager. Couldn’t find one. I called back a couple of times since then. No manager to be found to hear my concerns. I’ve left a voicemail. No returned call yet.

Kevin Yu, product advisor at Wietzes Toyota, next time somebody asks you a question, answer the question, then you may continue on your sales pitch. To the folks at Wietzes Toyota, you are doing yourself a disservice by employing people who treat customers like myself poorly.

When I ask a question, answer it. If you don’t know the answer, tell me that you don’t know. Don’t make me ask it three times. And don’t give me attitude when I get upset. Don’t stick your hand in a beehive then get upset when the bees sting you.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2012 3:13 pm

    Amen, brother! What is going ON with customer service in the last ten years?!

  2. May 3, 2012 3:40 pm

    This is getting exciting. When are you going to the dealership personally and asking for the manager? I want to be there for that!

  3. May 3, 2012 8:40 pm

    Obviously, he makes more money if you buy a new model. I hate crappy customer service.

  4. Riot Kitty permalink
    May 4, 2012 12:54 am

    Wow, wtf! What a bunch of assholes.

  5. May 4, 2012 3:39 am

    I hope you got hold of the manager. I can’t wait to see the update to this one!

    Oh, it looks like you asked him 4 times, if you count the time right before he hung up on you.

  6. May 6, 2012 12:02 pm

    Ahahaha!!! I love that you used his name and the dealership! Go down there and give em hell!

  7. May 6, 2012 7:52 pm

    Ooh, don’t you sometimes wish you could punch someone through the phone? Even after they hung up? Or didn’t answer your call in the first place?

  8. May 8, 2012 11:32 am

    You should pay them a visit in person, just to see what they would do.

Leave a Reply

