Skip to content

Pondscum, Germs Pondscum

November 12, 2012

I caught the new James Bond film, Skyfall.
I’ve never been a Bond fan. It’s a formula to make a movie that might have made sense in 1962 but not now.
Here’s what I never understood. The super villain captures Bond and explains his evil plan. Then he gives Bond the opportunity to break free. Why doesn’t he just bust a cap in Bond’s ass and then feed the corpse to the sharks with the laser beams attached to their heads. No. Bond has to be put on this slowly descending platform so he has time to escape.
It’s not that Skyfall was a bad movie, it’s just another James Bond movie.
My biggest complaint with this movie has to be the part where Bond and henchman #37 fight underwater. Of all the henchmen to be singled out for a one on one battle, why use the henchman that looks just like the actor playing Bond. I couldn’t tell who was doing what to who because they both looked the same. There’s an army of henchmen and they pick the most confusing of them all.
I also saw Frankenweinie. That was a good movie. It was funny, sweet and damn creepy. Seriously, that cat bat thing freaked me out something fierce.
I was left wondering something from this film. Was this Tim Burton’s take on Frankenstein or was this Tim Burton’s biopic? Or both?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2012 10:37 am

    My old favourite “The Return of Captain Invincible” had this just right.

    Bad Guy: “What’s going on, my good friend, is 30 years of research and development, controlled by THAT COMPUTER OVER THERE!”

    Good Guy promptly destroys computer…

  2. November 12, 2012 2:37 pm

    I’ve never understood giving him the opportunity to leave after a lengthy chat, either. Maybe he should just offer him a fucking cup of tea and get it over with?

  3. November 12, 2012 5:10 pm

    I loved Frankenweenie too! (Never seen a Bond movie in my life though.) Yah, the cat bat was freaky. I also loved the science teacher and his class of weird-o kids. Great flick.

    And I think the answer to your question is both. :)

  4. November 12, 2012 8:46 pm

    I saw my first Bond film a few years ago….it was meh!

    Tim Burton however I adore so I’m looking forward to seeing that film!

  5. November 13, 2012 12:26 pm

    While most Bond films are silly and unwatchable, this one really delivered. I like how the series is now more character driven.

  6. November 13, 2012 4:48 pm

    I’ve never understood James Bond either. Maybe audiences back in 1962 were slow so the bad guy had to explain his plan. I like Daniel Craig, but not enough to watch a Bond movie.

  7. November 15, 2012 1:05 am

    Many years ago, I dated a guy who was a Bond fan, and he took me on a “date” that was actually a Bond marathon at an old theater downtown. You think sitting through one Bond movie is bad? Try sitting through 4 or 5! Yikes!

    ———-

    He just wanted you to play with his golden gun, give his majesty some secret service, hoping you wouldn’t say dr. no, something something something octopussy.

Leave a Reply

