Skip to content

Customers From Hell

November 29, 2012

On my way to a job site, I noticed I was running a little bit early. That’s alright. I hit up a nearby coffee shop. Tim Hortons has a sale on their french vanilla beverage. It’s called a cappuccino but I know it’s obviously not a cappuccino. Whatever it is, I went to the Tim Hortons that was the location I first tried and developed my addiction for a Tim Hortons french vanilla.

Here’s the thing about Tim Hortons in the greater Toronto area, most daytime employees are recent immigrants to this country trying hard to make a better life for themselves. These people work their asses off at Tim Hortons and at their second jobs. Yes, that’s right. They’ve probably got two jobs to go to five or six days a week.

So, there’s this woman working at Tim Hortons. I recognize her. I’m pretty sure she works at another Tim Hortons location. That’s not that uncommon. I know this one guy who works at three different Wendys.

Yes. I visit Tim Hortons and Wendys far too often.

Back to the hard-working Tim Hortons lady. She’s serving this one female customer. This is what the female customer said to her: My thoughts on this lady are followed in parentheses.

  • “Gimme an apple fritter.” (Jeez lady, can you speak in a more rude tone?)
  • “I said an apple fritter.” (Pretty sure that is an apple fritter.)
  • “That’s not an apple fritter.” (Does this lady know what an apple fritter is?)
  • “Now where’s my bagel?” (This woman’s never been to a Tim Hortons before, has she? Oh, she’s just been instructed to the food pickup counter to wait for her bagel. Good, now I can order my little cup of french vanilla.)
  • “She’s not making my bagel. Tell her to make my bagel.” (She’s probably making the sandwich the guy ahead of you in line has ordered. Your bagel will be next, BITCH.)

I relayed this story to somebody later that day. I was then treated to a similar story my friend endured that morning. This is a story told to me by a friend.

I was in line at a housewares stores, Home Outfitters at Yorkdale. It was ten in the morning, the store had just opened. There was only one cashier at the time. Why would a store have more than one cashier on a Wednesday morning? The one customer at the cash was demanding the cashier call her a cab. The mall has a cab stand. There’s no need to call a cab. It’s already there. You’d think somebody who requires a cab to get around would know that.

I understand that customer service in Toronto sucks, but these two customers were just plain, ol’ fashioned bitches. They’re giving everybody unnecessary stress. These people begin conversations with accusations and demands. That is wrong. That’s not how we as a society are supposed to behave.

I would like everybody reading this to greet the next cashier you see with a smile and be nothing but courteous.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    November 29, 2012 10:16 am

    That is sad. I am curious what three Wendy’s does this one guy work at? I figure the one on Dufferin and the one by your work. What is the third one?

    ——-

    Keele and 407

  2. November 29, 2012 4:13 pm

    I groped the first cashier I saw. Does that count?

  3. November 29, 2012 6:36 pm

    I hate it when people are rude to people serving them for no reason at all. I usually say something about it, can’t help myself…you remember douchebag guacamole biking geek guy at Chipotle?

  4. November 29, 2012 9:14 pm

    Wow, I actually completely agree with everything you wrote in this post. :)

  5. November 29, 2012 10:45 pm

    very sad… even worse when the rudeness happens while the obnoxious customer is yapping on a cell phone. pity we can’t hit these people in the head with a sturdy plank, isn’t it?

  6. November 29, 2012 11:44 pm

    What’s really upsetting is how companies will bend over backwards for these people.

  7. November 30, 2012 5:20 pm

    Oh, you know me; I’m always nice to cashiers.
    It sucks that people can be so needlessly rude. I haven’t had the displeasure of being exposed to such awful behaviour in a long time.

  8. December 3, 2012 6:43 pm

    Unfortunately, too many people think being rude to those serving them makes them more “powerful” than the person they’re being rude to, somehow. It only shows how small and character-less they are.

Leave a Reply

