Skip to content

What’s New

February 5, 2013

With me: I took a one-off cooking class last night. Healthier Mexican Fiesta it was called.
There was this really spicy soup called poxole or something. It had chunks of chicken and lots of tasty green things.
I also learned the proper way to roll a tortilla into a fajita or burrito. You wouldn’t believe the mess I create when I make fajitas. Now I know.
The spices on the steak for the fajitas were so aromatic my sinuses cleared. And I was fifteen feet from where they were cooking and there was a downdraft fan in between. My clothes still smell of the pepper and spices. Anybody wanna go halfsies on a pair of blue jeans? A relaxed fit is too much denim for me to eat in one meal.

With not me: A skeleton found underneath a parking lot in England last year was determined to be that of King Richard III. He was the last king of the Plantagenet dynasty and the last English king to die in battle. The finding of his remains and giving him a proper resting place is of great interest to me. Maybe not for you but I’m a fan of British history.
This is not the first time some digging turned up a skeleton. But the remains of a king. This is a big deal. This is a king.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2013 9:34 am

    That cooking class sounds awesome! I wish I could find something like that around here. Just a one-off would be great.

    And what an historic event for England, discovering Richard III’s remains! Pretty interesting and exciting, I thought.

  2. Bob permalink
    February 5, 2013 10:03 am

    You should cook for me some time. Just please don’t make it too spicy.

    ——–

    This is the second time you’ve requested I cook for you.

    What’s the matter? Wife can’t cook? Wife won’t cook?

  3. February 5, 2013 10:36 am

    The finding of Richard III’s bones is a big thing for me too. I hope that he gets a good ceremony when they rebury him – might even go along to see it!

    As another Canadian friend of mine said – Richard was the last English King – the Tudors were Welsh, the Stuarts were Scots and the rest have been Germans!

    ——-

    Weren’t the Plantagents French?
    Yeah yeah I know. Henry III defrenchified himself but still…

  4. February 5, 2013 1:33 pm

    TIL that Richard the III was the last English King, which is just baffling.

  5. Riot Kitty permalink
    February 5, 2013 4:35 pm

    I couldn’t believe he ended up underneath a parking lot. How the mighty have fallen!

  6. February 5, 2013 8:47 pm

    I’m not into eating denim, but I’d really like to smell you.

    I’m all geeked out over the King Richard thing. Year’s ago when I still believed in such stuff I read an historical romance novel about him & he really came to life. I’m glad they ate finally giving him a proper burial.

  7. February 5, 2013 10:46 pm

    My dad was all over the Richard III story.

    A Mexican cooking class sounds good!

  8. February 8, 2013 5:38 pm

    Sure, I’ll split a pair of blue jeans with you. Do you want the left leg or the right? Or you could have a pair of shorts and I could have denim leg warmers.

  9. February 10, 2013 9:26 pm

    healthy mexican cooking? what’s the point of that? without all the cheese and fried stuff it would just taste like… spicy lean meat and vegetables. hmmmm…. maybe i’ve been doing it wrong.

  10. February 15, 2013 10:32 pm

    A one-off class sounds like fun! Not a big commitment, easy to fit into the schedule, a blast!

    And British history is fun. Not sure why, but it is.

Leave a Reply

