Skip to content

The Long-Winded Road

May 17, 2013

I caught the end of Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner last night on TCM. I’ve never seen it before but I’m familiar with the premise; white woman brings black fiancé to meet stodgy old parents.
The final scene is Spencer Tracy giving this really long speech. I get that this is Tracy’s last film and everybody knew it would be his last film but he wouldn’t shut up. He makes the point of his speech then he keeps talking and talking and talking.
I was talking back to the television screen. “We get that point, sheesh.”
But it was still better than absolutely everything Hollywood is producing today and having the stones to call it cinema.
Recently Steven Soderburgh gave a key note speech at a conference. In his incredibly long-winded speech, he basically gave a giant fuck you to both Hollywood and movie-goers. It took damn near forever but he made two points: Hollywood keeps pumping out more crap than my ass on a Metamucil binge; and movie audiences lap it up like a dehydrated dog.
Next time you go to the movies, I want you to picture this in your mind: YOU are sucking turds straight from somebody else’s asshole.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2013 11:02 am

    I loved the imagery and analogies this post uses. I might incorporate them into my own posts someday. Great writing is meant to be stolen, and this is great writing.

  2. May 17, 2013 1:28 pm

    It does get harder and harder to find good things to watch these days. Some foreign films are actually pretty good, as it seems they don’t have an Agenda they’re trying to promote, but simply want to tell a good story.

    At this point, it seems all Hollywood knows what to do anymore is make remakes of crap. I’m not sure if they would know a good, original idea if it came up and bit them in the naughty bits.

  3. May 17, 2013 4:32 pm

    And THAT is why I haven’t gone to see a movie in almost a year. (Still, given your analogy, I’m ashamed to admit that I ever went to see any movie at all in my entire life.)

    ——–

    No amount of mouth was will do

  4. May 22, 2013 5:35 pm

    I haven’t been to the theater in years. I occasionally watch a movie on Netflix. I’m all about TV shows. They are far better than anything the movie industry is putting out.

Leave a Reply

