Skip to content

Hunger Games

July 11, 2013

Hunger, it’s a funny thing.

No not starving people on the streets. That ain’t funny.

I’m talking about the general feeling of hunger within the human body.

I’m writing this post at 10:30 in the morning and I’m very hungry. I had my usual breakfast at the usual time, or maybe ten minutes later than normal. And now at 10:30, I’m really hungry again. I’m not usually this hungry this early in the day.

The weirdest thing about hunger is how the body responds to it. When I’m hungry, I can eat. Oh boy I can eat. I can put away the food. Usually, when I eat, I eat too much. Hence my fatness. I eat until I feel full. Sometimes, I eat past that point. I’m not going to leave one slice of pizza in a box. I can leave half a pizza but I can’t leave one lonely slice.

When I eat until I’m full, I end up feeling fuller (or over-full or too full or über-full) later. Why does the body not immediately recognize satiation? I’m supposed to eat until I’m almost full because then later I will feel just full. I’ve had people tell me to eat to eighty percent full. I’m sorry, is there a gauge somewhere I can view? How do I know I’m at eighty percent? I could still be at fifty, or lower.

I know I’ve once stated if I could redesign the human body, I’d change feet (and give myself moose antlers) but now I’m thinking I want some gauges to easily check the levels of various substances in my body.

Wouldn’t that be interesting. Somewhere built into my arm would be a dashboard. I could quickly check things like stomach capacity, heart rate, bladder or bowel contents. For diabetics, an internal blood sugar monitor would be amazing. So much better than doing that prick test thing all the time.

It doesn’t need to have a digital display or anything fancy. I’ll settle for needle gauges.

None of this means I still don’t want antlers. I want antlers. Nobody fucks with a guy with antlers. I just can never go hunting. I’d so get shot.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2013 11:08 am

    Nah, you just need a set of Status Bars like in The SIms.

    BTW, I have been told that it takes time for the body to realise that it is getting full, so if you eat more slowly you will get the signals before you have gone too far.

  2. July 11, 2013 12:05 pm

    Yep, hunger’s weird. I’m like you — if there’s food on my plate I’m going to eat it, almost irrespective of how much. Won’t leave one slice of pizza behind. And I NEVER know when I’m full until it’s too late.

    Since we’ve been doing our ketogenic diet, I’ve discovered I can be satisfied with much less food than I thought. It’s been nice, but…I miss being OVER full. I’m just tired of being obese.

  3. July 11, 2013 3:12 pm

    What was that about a prick test? Something for guys only, I assume.

    Well, anyway, I’m sure they’ll have apps for all that stuff pretty soon.

  4. July 13, 2013 2:52 am

    You know, I’ve read that it’s the carbs that make us feel hungry. They cause some hormone called ghrelin or something like that to go into high gear – that’s the hunger hormone. Eat carbs, be hungry again not much later. *sigh* It’s like drugs.

    I like the dashboard idea. It could work! Let’s start a petition.

Leave a Reply

